University of York Oxford

University of Oxford Logo

University of York Oxford

The University of York (abbreviated as Ebor or York for post-nominals) is a collegiate plate glass research university located in the city of York, England. Established in 1963, the campus university has expanded to more than thirty departments and centres, covering a wide range of subjects.

Situated to the south-east of the city of York, the university campus is about 500 acres (200 hectares) in size. The original Heslington West (or Campus West) campus incorporates the York Science Park and the National Science Learning Centre, and its wildlife, campus lakes and greenery are prominent. In May 2007 the university was granted permission to build an extension to its main campus, on arable land just east of the nearby village of Heslington. The second campus, known as Heslington East or Campus East, opened in 2009and now hosts three colleges and three departments as well as conference spaces, a sports village and a business start-up “incubator”. The institution also King’s Manor in York city centre.

York is a collegiate university and every student is allocated to one of the university’s nine colleges. The ninth college was founded in 2014 and was named Constantine after the Roman emperor Constantine I, who was proclaimed Augustus in York in 306 AD.[11] There are plans to build two new colleges in the near future.

In the 2014 Research Assessment Exercise, York was ranked the 14th best research institution in the United Kingdom for average quality of research submitted. The university is ranked 10th to 20th in all three major national rankings and 100th to 150th in three of the four major international rankings. In 2012, York joined the Russell Group of research-intensive British universities