University of Buckingham Chancellor

university of buckingham logo

University of Buckingham Chancellor

University of Buckingham Chancellor

The Chancellor

The Honorable Lady KeswickThe Honorable Lady Keswick is Chancellor of the University of Buckingham. She succeeds Baron Tanlaw of Tanlawhill (Simon Mackay) who stepped down in March 2013 after two years service. Previous Chancellors have been Sir Martin Jacomb, Lord Hailsham and Baroness Thatcher.

Lady Keswick occupies the intersection between policy-making and education, and she has long been a prominent advocate of higher standards in education and of autonomy in education. Between 1989 and 1995 she worked as a policy adviser at the Departments of Health, the Department of Education and Science, the Home Office and HM Treasury. Between 1995 and 2004 she was the Executive Director of the Centre for Policy Studies, which is the think-tank that was founded by Margaret Thatcher and Keith Joseph. Since 2004 she has been a Deputy Chairman of the Centre for Policy Studies (CPS).

Lady Keswick has contributed to, commissioned and published over 100 public policy pamphlets on the European Union, the Constitution, law and order, education, health, tax and regulatory affairs and women’s issues. She has written on these subjects for most of the national newspapers, and has given interviews on radio and on television. She has an interest in foreign affairs and travels extensively, particularly in China and the Far East.

A ceremony to install Lady Keswick as Chancellor took place in March 2014.  Read more.


Sir Anthony Seldon was appointed as vice-chancellor from 1 September 2015 from Wellington College where he was 13th Master. The outgoing Vice-Chancellor was Terence Kealey, formerly of the Department of Clinical Biochemistry at Cambridge University, who had held the post since April 2001. Kealey is known for his research that challenges the idea that education and science are public goods needing public subsidies. He wrote an academic book on the subject in 1996, “The Economic Laws of Scientific Research”, which he repackaged and updated for a general audience in 2008 as “Sex, Science and Profits”.

In February 2010, Kealey proposed the establishment of a new independent university, modelled on American liberal arts colleges, that would concentrate on undergraduate teaching rather than research. The plan is currently being considered by the Headmasters’ and Headmistresses’ Conference (HMC), whose 243 members include independent schools such as Eton College, Winchester College and St Paul’s School, London. Kealey believes that complaints about impersonal teaching and oversized classes at many traditional universities mean there will be strong demand for higher education with staff-student ratios similar to that provided by independent secondary schools. He stepped down in July 2014.


The University of Buckingham
Hunter Street
MK18 1EG
United Kingdom