Newman University Dean’s List

Newman University, Birmingham Logo

Newman University Dean’s List

Newman University Dean’s List


The University is named after the 19th century religious figure Cardinal Newman who had strong links with the city of Birmingham as an Oratorian and a member of the Birmingham Oratory. His view of a university was of a scholarly community wherein the focus should be on training the mind to think rather than the simple diffusion of knowledge.

In 1965, the Catholic Archbishop of Birmingham, George Patrick Dwyer, donated land in Bartley Green that was once site of Athol House Farm for the purposes of building a teacher training college. In 1966, while under construction, the College appointed Simon Quinlan as its first Principal and Joe Blackledge as Vice Principal. At its opening, the College was the first mixed gender institution under lay control. The College accepted its first group of 182 students in 1968.

Initially, the College’s degree qualifications were awarded by University of Birmingham. In 1983, under threat of closure, the College entered into an agreement with nearby Westhill College to share facilities. This relationship ended abruptly in 1998 when Coventry University started to award all degrees and Westhill College was absorbed into University of Birmingham. Between 2003 and 2008, University of Leicester validated all degrees at the College.The Privy Council gave the institution degree awarding powers in 2007 finally marking the institution’s independence.

Between the years 2000 and 2008, the College expanded rapidly. Student numbers increased 112%.

Originally called Newman College of Higher Education, the College was established as a centre for the training of teachers for local primary and secondary schools. The institution changed its name to Newman University College in January 2008 and to Newman University in 2013.Upon receiving university status, then Principal, Professor Peter Lutzeier, commented ‘it has been a long road to get here but achieving full university status provides welcome recognition for the quality of Newman’s courses, graduates and staff’. Newman is one of only three Catholic Universities in the UK, and the first established since the Reformation.


Deans of School

Contact details

Contact: Professor Frank Leishman MA MSc MAEd PhD
Position: Dean of School of Human Sciences
Tel: 0121 476 1181 (Ext. 2228)
View staff profile
Contact: Professor Stephen Rayner
Position: Dean of Education
Tel: 0121 476 1181 (Ext. 2249)
View staff profile
Contact: Professor Mairtin Mac an Ghaill MSc, PhD
Position: Interim Director of Graduate School
Tel: 0121 476 1181 (Ext. 2601)
Contact: Dr Lorraine Thomas
Position: Associate Dean of the School of Education
Tel: 0121 476 1181 (Ext. 2350)
View staff profile
Contact: Dr Matthew Day MA, PhD, PGCE, FHEA
Position: Associate Dean School of Human Sciences
Tel: 0121 476 1181 (Ext. 2545)
View staff profile


For Staff Profiles, please click on the link in the right hand sub menu for an alphabetical listing of School of Education staff profiles. The list below provides the contact details for senior managment, subject area and programme leaders and school office administration staff. 

Dean and Associate Dean

Stephen Rayner
Dean of School of Education

Lorraine Thomas
Associate Dean, CPD Programme Leader


Teacher Training – Primary

Suzanne Strawford
Head of Primary ITE
Primary School Partnership Co-ordinator
Joint Interim Programme Leader ITE Primary/KS2-3

Teacher Training – Secondary

Kate Mara
Secondary School Partnership Manager / Interim Head of Secondary ITE


Martin Husbands
Strategic Manager School Direct


Early Childhood Education and Care

Allison Tatton
Interim Head of Early Childhood Education and Care
Programme Co-ordinator for Teaching and Learning Support Foundation Degree

Debbie Harris
Interim Programme Co-ordinator for BA (Hons) Early Childhood Education and Care

Helen Davies
Programme Co-ordinator for FdA  Eary Years and FdA Teaching and Learning Support

Jane Beniston
Programme Co-ordinator for EYITT


Education and Multi Professional Practice (EMPP)

Dave Trotman
Co-Programme Leader EMPP [PG portfolio]

Steve Griffin
Co-Programme Leader EMPP [UG portfolio]


School Office

Neil Porter
School Office Manager, PA to Dean & Associate Dean

Margaret Bayliss
Senior School Office Administrator [Primary Partnerships]

Sandra Cable
Senior School Office Administrator [Secondary Partnerships and SKE]

Estelle Vale
School Office Administrator [Ofsted Coordinator, SD Partnerships, Assessment Only]

Louise Smith
School Office Administrator [UG/PG (inc EdD) Programmes]

Cherilyn Ward
CPD Administrator [ECEC, EMPP, CPD]

Lyn Whitehouse
School Office Administrator [Primary Programmes]

Dawn Picken
School Office Administrator [MA Education, RKTCG]