University of W London

University of London LogoUniversity of W London

Address: St Mary’s Rd, London W5 5RF
Phone: 0800 036 8888
Other students: 28,290 FE
Total enrollment: 16,892 (2009)
Chancellor: Laurence S. Geller

The University of West London (UWL) is a public university in the United Kingdom which has campuses in Ealing and Brentford in London, as well as in Reading in Berkshire.

The university has roots back to 1860, when the Lady Byron School was founded, which later became Ealing College of Higher Education. In 1990, Ealing College of Higher Education, Thames Valley College of Higher Education, Queen Charlotte’s College of Health Care Studies and the London College of Music merged to form the Polytechnic of West London. In 1992, the Polytechnic of West London became a university and adopted the name Thames Valley University. In 2004, Thames Valley merged with Reading College and School of Arts and Design. A former campus in Slough was closed in 2010.

In August 2010, the university announced that it had been granted permission to change its name to the University of West London, to reflect a focusing of operations onto its Ealing and Brentford campuses. The new name was formally adopted on Wednesday 6 April 2011.


There are two campus sites in west London, located in St Mary’s Road, Ealing and at Paragon House in Brentford. There is also a third site in Reading, Berkshire.

New Campus

The University of West London has planning consent for the redevelopment of the St Mary’s Road site in Ealing. The development was originally opposed by Ealing residents so a new planning permission was submitted and accepted. In 1992 the University signed an agreement to landscape the site for the community.


The University of West London comprises eight schools. These are Claude Littner Business School, the London Geller College of Hospitality and Tourism, the School of Computing and Engineering, London College of Music, the College of Nursing, midwifery and Healthcare, the School of Law and Criminology, the School of Human and Social Sciences, and the London School of Film, Media and Design.

The Graduate School (based in Ealing) co-ordinates and provides support to research activities and research degree courses. The University offers traditional Phd programmes and Professional Doctorates.

The university also works with the Met Film School, a private film school that is based at Ealing Studios in London, United Kingdom. The school, which launched in 2003, offers two and three year Bachelors programs as well as various master’s degree programs, which are accredited through the University of West London.