University of London HR

University of London LogoUniversity of London HR

University of London HR (Human Resources)

The Human Resources division comprises:

  • Payroll Office which arranges the payment of staff at the central University, Health Education England’s London Local Education Training Boards and SAUL;
  • Pensions Office which provides a comprehensive service on all aspects of superannuation;
  • Human Resources General Office which can advise on terms and conditions of service and matters of policy and good practice in employment. It also maintains staff records and deals with the general administration of employment;
  • Staff Development Office which organises training for all members of staff from the central University and the Institutes and Activities. Courses include management training, equality awareness, health and safety training, and various aspects of IT.

University of London HR, Contacts

University of London
Senate House
Malet Street


+44 (0)20 7862 8000

University of London

The University of London is a collegiate research university located in London, England, consisting of 18 constituent colleges, nine research institutes and a number of central bodies.

The university is the largest university by number of full-time students in the United Kingdom, with 161,270 campus-based students and over 50,000 distance learning students in the University of London International Programmes. The university was established by royal charter in 1836, as a degree-awarding examination board for students holding certificates from University College London (UCL) (previously called London University) and King’s College London and “other such other Institutions, corporate or unincorporated, as shall be established for the purpose of Education, whether within the Metropolis or elsewhere within our United Kingdom”. The university moved to a federal structure in 1900.

For most practical purposes, ranging from admissions to funding, the constituent colleges operate on an independent basis, with some recently obtaining the power to award their own degrees whilst remaining in the federal university. The ten largest colleges of the university are UCL, King’s College London, Queen Mary, City, Birkbeck, the London School of Economics and Political Science, Royal Holloway, Goldsmiths, SOAS, and St George’s. The specialist colleges of the university include the London Business School, the Royal Veterinary College and Heythrop College, specialising in philosophy and theology. Imperial College London was formerly a member, before leaving the university a century later in 2007. City is the most recent constituent college, having joined on 1 September 2016.

As on 2015, there are a total of around 2 million University of London alumni across the world, which include 7 monarchs or royalty, 52 presidents or prime ministers, 84 Nobel laureates, include several diplomats and civil servants across the world and staff associated with the collegiate research university.

In post-nominals, the University of London is commonly abbreviated as Lond. or, more rarely, Londin., from the Latin Universitas Londiniensis, after its degree abbreviations.