University of London Colleges

University of London LogoUniversity of London Colleges

University of London Colleges, The current constituent colleges of the University of London are as follows:

College Name Year Entered Photograph Students
Birkbeck, University of London (BBK) 1920
Birkbeck College, University of London.jpg
City, University of London (CUL)[7] 2016 The Grade II listed College Building 18,995
Courtauld Institute of Art (CIA) 1932
Somerset House, Strand.jpg
Goldsmiths, University of London (GUL) 1904
Goldsmiths Main Building.jpg
Heythrop College, University of London (HEY) 1971
Heythrop autumn gardens.JPG
Institute of Cancer Research (ICR) 2003
Institute of Cancer Research.jpg
King’s College London (KCL) 1836 (Founding College)
King's College London Bush House Building 3.jpg
London Business School (LBS) 1964
London Business School facade.jpg
London School of Economics and Political Science (LSE) 1900
LSE main entrance.jpg
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine (LSHTM) 1924
London School of Hygiene & Tropical Medicine building.jpg
Queen Mary University of London (QMUL) 1915
Queens' Building (2899476115).jpg
Royal Academy of Music (RAM) 2003
Royal Academy of Music London.jpg
Royal Central School of Speech and Drama (RCSSD) 2005
Embassy Theatre London.jpg
Royal Holloway, University of London (RHUL) 1900
Founder's Building, Royal Holloway, University of London - Diliff.jpg
Royal Veterinary College (RVC) 1915
SOAS, University of London (SOAS) 1916 6,070
St George’s, University of London (SGUL) 1836 (Joined after founding)
St-George s-Hospital.jpg
University College London (UCL) 1836 (Founding College)
University College London -quadrant-11Sept2006 (1).jpg
University of London Founded University
Senate House UoL.jpg
161,270 (internal)^ + 50,000 (external)

Central academic bodies

  • University of London Institute in Paris, formerly known as the British Institute in Paris
  • School of Advanced Study comprising the following institutes:
    • the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
    • the Institute of Classical Studies
    • the Institute of Commonwealth Studies
    • the Institute of English Studies
    • the Institute of Historical Research
    • the Institute of Latin American Studies
    • the Institute of Modern Languages Research
    • the Institute of Philosophy
    • the Warburg Institute
  • University of London International Programmes

University Colleges in the external degree programme

A number of major universities originated as university colleges teaching the degrees of (what is now) the International Programmes.

  • Mason College, Birmingham, awarded a Royal Charter in 1900 as the University of Birmingham.
  • Owen’s College Manchester, became part of the Victoria University in 1880, awarded a Royal Charter in 1903 as the Victoria University of Manchester.
  • University College Liverpool, became part of the Victoria University in 1884, awarded a Royal Charter in 1903 as the University of Liverpool.
  • Yorkshire College, Leeds, became part of the Victoria University in 1887, awarded a Royal Charter in 1904 as the University of Leeds.
  • Firth College, Sheffield, awarded a Royal Charter in 1905 as the University of Sheffield.
  • Bristol University College, awarded a Royal Charter in 1909 as the University of Bristol.
  • University College Reading, awarded a Royal Charter in 1926 as the University of Reading.
  • Ceylon University College, established by the Ceylon University Ordinance Act in 1942 as the University of Ceylon.
  • University College Nottingham, awarded a Royal Charter in 1948 as the University of Nottingham.
  • Hartley University College, Southampton, awarded a Royal Charter in 1952 as the University of Southampton.
  • University College Hull, awarded a Royal Charter in 1954 as the University of Hull.
  • University College of the South West of England, Exeter, awarded a Royal Charter in 1955 as the University of Exeter.
  • University College Leicester, awarded a Royal Charter in 1957 as the University of Leicester.
  • University College of South Wales and Monmouthshire, Cardiff, joined the University of Wales in 1893 and became Cardiff University in 2005.
  • University College of Wales, Aberystwyth, joined the University of Wales in 1893 and became Aberystwyth University in 2007.
  • University College of North Wales, Bangor, joined the University of Wales in 1893 and became Bangor University in 2007.

A number of other colleges had degrees validated and awarded by the University of London.

  • St. Patrick’s, Carlow College, Ireland – from 1840 to 1892 students studied for primary degrees in Arts (BA) and Law (BLL).
  • St. Patrick’s College, Thurles, Ireland – from 1849 the University of London, allowed Thurles to offer degrees.
  • Huddersfield College
  • Queen’s College, Birmingham
  • Stonyhurst College, a Catholic college in Lancashire.
  • Wesleyan Collegiate Institution, Taunton, which became Queen’s College, Taunton.
  • Ceylon Technical College, 1933 – 1950 students studied for engineering degrees in BSc in Engineering.
  • University College Lahore
  • Podar World College
  • Northwest College for Advanced Learning, New Delhi, India

Colleges in special relation

Between 1946 and 1970, the university entered into ‘schemes of special relation’ with university colleges in the Commonwealth of Nations. These schemes encouraged the development of independent universities by offering a relationship with the University of London. University colleges in these countries were granted a Royal Charter. An Academic Board of the university college negotiated with the University of London over the entrance requirements for the admission of students, syllabuses, examination procedures and other academic matters. During the period of the special relationship, graduates of the colleges were awarded University of London degrees.

Some of the colleges which were in special relation are listed below, along with the year in which their special relation was established.

  • 1946 – The University College of the West Indies, until 1961. (Now the University of the West Indies)
  • 1948 – University College, Ibadan, until 1967. (Now the University of Ibadan)
  • 1956 – University College of Rhodesia and Nyasaland (now the University of Zimbabwe).
  • 1961 – Royal College Nairobi (now the University of Nairobi).
  • 1963 – University of East Africa

In 1970, the ‘Schemes of Special Relation’ were phased out.