University of Huddersfield Music Staff

University of Huddersfield logo

University of Huddersfield Music Staff

Our academic community combines industry professionals with staff who have achieved national and international recognition for their work in their specialist areas. Our staff are all members of the Higher Education Academy and are recognised as leading figures in their fields, as evidenced by major commissions, performances, recordings, and publications. Instrumental and vocal lessons are delivered by a team of over 50 part-time staff from major orchestras, bands, and opera companies across the country.

We recognise the importance of connecting our research and practice with our teaching, reflected in the fact that the REF2014 placed us 7th in the UK for the quality of its research environment for music.

Portrait of Professor Peter AblingerProfessor Peter Ablinger

Research Professor of Composition

p.ablinger@hud.ac.uk | 01484 470000

Portrait of Professor Monty AdkinsProfessor Monty Adkins

Professor of Experimental Electronic Music

Director of Research, School of Music, Humanities
and Media

m.adkins@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472137

Professor Robert Adlington

Queen’s Anniversary Prize Professor of Contemporary Music

r.c.adlington@hud.ac.uk

Portrait of Dr  Mary BellamyDr Mary Bellamy

Senior Lecturer in Composition

Head of Composition

m.j.bellamy@hud.ac.uk | 01484 473066

Portrait of Dr Mark BokowiecDr Mark Bokowiec

Studio Manager

m.a.bokowiec@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472004

Portrait of Professor John BryanProfessor John Bryan

Professor of Music

j.h.bryan@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472749

Portrait of Prof Aaron CassidyProfessor Aaron Cassidy

Professor of Composition

Research Coordinator of Music and Music Technology

a.cassidy@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472011

Portrait of Dr  Lisa ColtonDr Lisa Colton

Senior Lecturer in Musicology

Director, MuGI

l.m.colton@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472401

Portrait of Professor Rachel CowgillProfessor Rachel Cowgill

Professor of Musicology

Head of Music and Drama

r.e.cowgill@hud.ac.uk | 01484 471397

Portrait of Dr Julio d'EscrivanDr Julio d’Escrivan

Senior Lecturer in Music for the Moving Image

Director, SMIC/rc

j.descrivan@hud.ac.uk | 01484 473501

Portrait of Dr Geoff CoxDr Geoff Cox

Senior Lecturer in Music Technology

g.m.cox@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472006

Portrait of Professor Michael ClarkeProfessor Michael Clarke

Professor of Electronic Music Composition and Analysis

Dean of the School of Music, Humanities and Media

j.m.clarke@hud.ac.uk | 01484 472424

Portrait of Dr Elizabeth DobsonDr Elizabeth Dobson

Senior Lecturer in Music Technology

e.d.dobson@hud.ac.uk | 01484 471890

Portrait of Dr Alex HarkerDr Alex Harker

Lecturer in Music Technology