University of Huddersfield Law School

By | 15th June 2017

University of Huddersfield logo

University of Huddersfield Law School

The Law School

Name School Role Telephone Email
Joanne Battye Departmental Administrator [01484] 473939 j.battye@hud.ac.uk

Academic Staff

Andrew Cash Senior Lecturer [01484] 471119 a.cash@hud.ac.uk
Alan Cockerill Senior Lecturer [01484] 473961 a.j.cockerill@hud.ac.uk
Carol Cook Subject Leader (Professional Studies) [01484] 471018 c.a.cook@hud.ac.uk
Phil Drake Senior Lecturer [01484] 472094 p.j.drake@hud.ac.uk
Mark Edwards Senior Lecturer [01484] 472882 m.l.edwards@hud.ac.uk
Melanies Fellowes Senior Lecturer [01484] 472634 m.g.fellowes@hud.ac.uk
Geoff Fowler Senior Lecturer [01484] 472496 g.j.fowler@hud.ac.uk
Natalies Gibson Senior Lecturer [01484] 472925 n.d.gibson@hud.ac.uk
Angela Grunert Senior Lecturer [01484] 472641 angela.grunert@hud.ac.uk
Tina Hart Principal Lecturer [01484] 472967 t.s.hart@hud.ac.uk
Emma Hatfield Senior Lecturer [01484] 473942 e.l.hatfield@hud.ac.uk
Rebecca Kelly Senior Lecturer [01484] 472489 r.j.lane@hud.ac.uk
Jacqueline Lane Senior Lecturer [01484] 473625 j.a.lane@hud.ac.uk
Susan Lazer Subject Group Leader [01484] 472294 s.lazer@hud.ac.uk
Gemma Manning Senior Lecturer [01484] 473070 g.manning@hud.ac.uk
James Mendelsohn Senior Lecturer [01484] 473607 j.b.mendelsohn@hud.ac.uk
Dr George Ndi Senior Lecturer [01484] 473080 g.ndi@hud.ac.uk
Vince Pescod Senior Lecturer [01484] 471380 v.pescod@hud.ac.uk
Alexia Place Senior Lecturer [01484] 473601 a.j.place@hud.ac.uk
Catherine Stanbury Senior Lecturer [01484] 471119 c.h.stanbury@hud.ac.uk
Dr Gerald Swaby Senior Lecturer [01484] 475011 g.swaby@hud.ac.uk
Professor Stuart Toddington Professor of Jurisprudence [01484] 472970 s.w.toddington@hud.ac.uk
Ann Wood Senior Lecturer [01484] 472551 a.e.wood@hud.ac.uk

Research Assistants

Dr Jing Wang Research Assistant [01484] 472112 J.Wang3@hud.ac.uk

Law is a fascinating subject area. It requires analysis, logical and lateral thought, combined with precision and tenacity. And if you want to become a barrister you’ll need to give a good performance in a court of law.

A career as a solicitor can provide a wealth of opportunity and the diversity of the work is immense. You may be working on commercial contracts for multinational firms, advising celebrities as a media lawyer, be involved in buying and selling property or representing people accused of crimes. Solicitors are increasingly at the centre of both commerce and the community.

You will need to follow a professional route to become a fully qualified solicitor or barrister and our LLB(Hons) and Master of Law and Practice (MLP) courses will put you on the path to a satisfying legal career.

Our innovative Partners in Law scheme links you with ten legal firms, both from the region and nationally with international repute for networking, mentoring and training opportunities.

The University has invested substantially in a unique and innovative student-led Legal Advice Clinic. Located in the town centre, the clinic serves the community of Huddersfield, with our students providing real advice to real people. It’s the first Legal Advice Clinic of its kind in the UK situated permanently off campus and in the community.

The Business School opened in 2010 and provides a modern and professional environment for our students to learn, network and relax. All of our teaching staff have been awarded professional recognition by the Higher Education Academy (HEA).