University of Huddersfield Chancellor

University of Huddersfield logo

University of Huddersfield Chancellor

Prince Andrew made Huddersfield University chancellor

The Duke of York has been made chancellor of the University of Huddersfield. Prince Andrew was appointed at a ceremony earlier and given an honorary doctorate for his contributions to entrepreneurship. He replaces actor Sir Patrick Stewart, who has occupied the post since 2004.

The duke became the institution’s patron in 2013 and opened its Duke of York Young Entrepreneur Centre the same year.

He has been involved in a number of the university’s projects for more than a decade.

Vice-chancellor Professor Bob Cryan said: “His Royal Highness has a natural ally in the University of Huddersfield, where entrepreneurialism is an essential component of our education and our philosophy.”

University of Huddersfield Chancellor

The Duke of York replaced actor Sir Patrick Stewart to become the University’s fourth Chancellor in July 2015. The Duke had previously served as the Patron of the University since 2013.

The University’s first two Chancellors were Reginald Cross, who held the role between 1992 and 1994, and Sir Ernest Hall, who served between 1996 and 2004.

Sir Patrick Stewart meeting students on the University campus in April 2017

Sir Patrick Stewart served as Chancellor for 11 years, having first been appointed in 2004. He has been a regular visitor to the campus, sometimes leading workshops with drama students, in addition to being an overseas ambassador for the University.

One feature of Sir Patrick’s tenure as Chancellor was his attendance at summer graduation ceremonies, and his leading of parades of graduates through the town. The first such parade took place in 2008. He has continued his association with the University as Emeritus Chancellor.

In 2016, the building used by the University’s Drama department, previously known as the Milton building, was renamed the Sir Patrick Stewart building. He returned to the campus to reopen it.

Senior management

The University is run by the Vice-Chancellor, Professor Bob Cryan. Underneath him is Deputy Vice-Chancellor, Professor Tim Thornton, and three Pro Vice-Chancellors. Each of the seven academic schools is led by a Dean, with an eighth Dean who oversees the Graduate School. Other University services are run by Directors.