University of Derby Rugby

University of Derby logo

University of Derby Rugby

University of Derby Rugby Union

We are the University of Derby Rugby Football Club.

Our 3 BUCS teams compete and train on the brand new 4G astroturf pitch at the university sports centre. We train three times a week and play our games on wednesdays.

Training times: 

Monday 19:00 – 20:30

Tuesday 19:00 – 20:00

Friday 18:00 – 19:00 (Alternate Fridays)

Founded in 1987, UDRFC (often known simply as “The Brush”) has built a history as a team of fierce competitors and is well known throughout the university, with members featuring in prominent positions within the university’s hierarchy. Members of the club are known as “Brushmen,” and the Brushman logo can be seen on the club’s social and playing kit.

University of Derby

The University of Derby (formerly Derby College of Art and Technology or simply Derby College) is a public university in the city of Derby, England. It traces its history back to the establishment of the Derby Diocesan Institution for the Training of Schoolmistresses in 1851 and gained university status in 1992 as one of the new universities.

The university provides over 300 study programmes at undergraduate level. Undergraduate programmes as well as short courses, foundation degrees and postgraduate degrees cover most academic disciplines and subdisciplines.

Currently the university is home to around 34,000 students in all areas of study.

Former names
Derby College, Derby College of Art and Technology, Derbyshire College of Higher Education
Motto Latin: Experientia docet
Motto in English
Experience is the best teacher