University of London Campus

University of London Logo

University of London Campus

The university owns a considerable central London estate 12 hectares freehold land in Bloomsbury, near Russell Square tube station.

Some of the university’s colleges have their main buildings on the estate. The Bloomsbury Campus also contains eight Halls of Residence and Senate House, which houses Senate House Library, the chancellor’s official residence and previously housed the School of Slavonic and East European Studies, now part of University College London (UCL) and housed in its own new building. Almost all of the School of Advanced Study is housed in Senate House and neighbouring Stewart House.

University of London Campus

The university also owns many of the squares that formed part of the Bedford Estate, including Gordon Square, Tavistock Square, Torrington Square and Woburn Square, as well as several properties outside Bloomsbury, with many of the university’s colleges and institutes occupying their own estates across London:

  • Clare Market,
  • The Aldwych, where the London School of Economics and Political Science and part of King’s College London are based
  • The North and East Wings of Somerset House, the location for the Courtauld Institute of Art and King’s College London, respectively
  • St Bartholomew’s Hospital,
  • the University of London Boat Club in Chiswick, and
  • the Egham campus of Royal Holloway with its historic Founder’s Building.

The university also has several properties outside London, including a number of residential and catering units further afield and the premises of the University of London Institute in Paris, which offers undergraduate and postgraduate degrees in French and historical studies.

Central academic bodies

  • University of London Institute in Paris, formerly known as the British Institute in Paris
  • School of Advanced Study comprising the following institutes:
    • the Institute of Advanced Legal Studies
    • the Institute of Classical Studies
    • the Institute of Commonwealth Studies
    • the Institute of English Studies
    • the Institute of Historical Research
    • the Institute of Latin American Studies
    • the Institute of Modern Languages Research
    • the Institute of Philosophy
    • the Warburg Institute
  • University of London International Programmes