University of Huddersfield Football Team

University of Huddersfield logo

University of Huddersfield Football Team

Team Hud prides itself on its staff. Whether it’s the helpful Reception team that greet you as you walk in or the Instructor team that motivates you to achieve you goals in a fitness class, we are all here to exceed your expectations.

‘Welcoming’, ‘friendly’ and ‘helpful’ are all words which Team Hud Members used to describe our staff.

We don’t see our members as separate from our staff, we are all one team – Team Hud.

Who we are and what we do

Laurie Nettleton

Laurie Nettleton

Sport and Leisure Centre Manager

+44 (0) 1484 472093

l.j.nettleton@hud.ac.uk

Leanne Martin

Leanne Martin

Assistant Manager

+44 (0) 1484 2093

l.j.martin@hud.ac.uk

Naomi Lockwood

Naomi Lockwood

Assistant Manager

+44 (0) 1484 472093

n.lockwood@hud.ac.uk

Natalie Sinclair

Natalie Sinclair

Assistant Manager

+44 (0) 1484 472093

n.sinclair@hud.ac.uk

Matt Johnson

Matt Johnson

Fitness Instructor

+44 (0) 1484 472093

m.johnson2@hud.ac.uk

Kirsty Dow

Kirsty Dow

Fitness Instructor

+44 (0) 1484 472093

k.l.dow@hud.ac.uk

Vanessa Barrett

Vanessa Barrett

Fitness Instructor

+44 (0) 1484 472093

v.barrett@hud.ac.uk

Jenny Bateman

Jenny Bateman

Receptionist

+44 (0) 1484 472093

j.bateman@hud.ac.uk

Amy Hemblys

Amy Hemblys

Receptionist

+44 (0) 1484 472093

a.hemblys@hud.ac.uk

Chelsea Dyson

Chelsea Dyson

Receptionist

+44 (0) 1484 472093

c.a.dyson@hud.ac.uk

Jermaine Akins

Jermaine Akins

Fitness Instructor

+44 (0) 1484 472093

j.akins@hud.ac.uk

Thabiso Magida

Thabiso Magida

Sports Centre Assistant

+44 (0) 1484 472093

t.magida@hud.ac.uk

George Pearson

George Pearson

Sports Centre Assistant

+44 (0) 1484 472093

G.Pearson@hud.ac.uk

Stephanie Smith

Stephanie Smith

Fitness Instructor

+44 (0) 1484 472093

S.G.Smith@hud.ac.uk

 

We pride ourselves as a successful, dedicated, well-respected club at the University. The club has three teams that all compete in the British Universities & Colleges Sport (BUCS) leagues. We train on Monday nights and play on Wednesday afternoons, both at Storthes Hall, Shelly FC’s ground.
Last year, we enjoyed an incredible start to Ashley Vickers’ tenure as Head of Football at the University, with our 1st XI walking the BUCS Northern Division 5, as well as our 2nd XI & 3rd XI narrowly missing out on league title victories on the final day of the season. Coming in to the 2016/17 campaign, we have lost some stalwart members of the club, who are going to be sorely missed. HUFC and its members are extremely keen to welcome a new crop of talent and begin a new era, lead by the new committee and the exceedingly talented Ashley Vickers. So if you enjoy playing at a competitive level and you’re keen to socialise, then get yourself down to the trials on Wednesday 28th September!

Recent Honours

BUCS Northern Division 5 (1st XI) – 2015-16
BUCS Northern Conference Plate (2nd XI) – 2014-15
BUCS Northern Division 7 (3rd XI) – 2012-13
BUCS Northern Division 4 (1st XI) – 2011-12
BUCS Northern Division 5 (1st XI) – 2010-11