University Of Glasgow 22 Point Scale

University Of Glasgow 22 Point Scale

university of glasgow logo

Change to the system of grade and grade-points

Dear Undergraduate Student,

This message is about a forthcoming change to the University’s system of grades and grade-points. It is being sent to all undergraduate students, but it is particularly relevant for students in Years 1 and 2 of the BA, BAcc, BD, BEd, BEng, BMus, BN, BSc, BTech, LLB, MA, MA(SocSci), MEng, and MSci programmes. Students on the BDS, BVMS, and MBChB programmes will not be affected at all.

Whenever you complete a course you are awarded a grade (A, B, C, …, G or H) for your performance in the course. Throughout the University, grade A means excellent, grade B means very good, and so on. Each grade is converted to a number of grade-points, as shown in Table 1.

Table 1: the 16-point scale

Grade  A  B  C  D  E  F  G  H
Grade-points16141210 8 6 2 0

The grade-points are used to compute your grade-point average (GPA) over all your courses. In order to graduate with an ordinary or designated degree, you need to achieve a GPA of at least 10.0. Your Websurf record shows your grade-points and GPA to date.

University Of Glasgow 22 Point Scale

A few years ago the University started to record your performance more precisely in terms of grades and bands. For example, grade B is divided into three bands: B1 means a high B, B2 means a medium B, and B3 means a low B.

If you are in Year 1 or 2, or in Year 3 of an ordinary or designated degree, the bands are there only to give you a better indication of your performance; they do not affect your GPA.

But if you are in Year 3 or 4 of an honours degree (or Year 5 of an integrated masters degree), the bands are much more significant: they will influence whether you are awarded a 1st, 2nd, or 3rd class degree. For example, band B1 is worth more points than B2, and B2 is worth more points than B3.