University of Essex 2017/18 Term Dates

university of essex logo

University of Essex 2017/18 Term Dates

University of Essex 2017/18 Term Dates

Dates of terms, exams and graduation

Today is: Wednesday, 31 May 2017; week: 35 (Examinations)

2016-17 academic year

We have three-terms during the academic year. Our key dates for you to watch out for include the start and end of our Autumn, Spring and Summer terms, registration, examinations and graduation.

Please note that some teaching dates for students vary according to your campus, degree level and course.

Key dates
Event Begins Ends Notes
Registration Colchester Campus Tuesday 4 October 2016 Friday 7 October 2016 More information about Registration.
Registration Southend Campus Friday 16 September 2016 Friday 7 October 2016 More information about Registration.
Registration Loughton Campus Tuesday 27 September 2016 in CS1 and CS2 in Hatfields House. More information about Registration.
Autumn Term Thursday 6 October 2016 Friday 16 December 2016 Some teaching dates for students vary according to campus, degree level and course. First year undergraduate students should arrive earlier than the start date shown in order to attend University and departmental Welcome events.
Spring Term Monday 16 January 2017 Friday 24 March 2017 Easter Day: 16 April 2017
Summer Term Monday 24 April 2017 Friday 30 June 2017
Graduation Tuesday 18 July 2017 Friday 21 July 2017 All ceremonies are held at our Colchester Campus.
More information about Graduation

Timetables

Exam dates

  • Main examinations: Monday 15 May 2017 – Friday 9 June 2017
  • Half-year examinations: Monday 9 January 2017 – Saturday 14 January 2017
  • Re-sit examinations: Friday 1 September 2017 – Wednesday 13 September 2017

Exams for specific groups of students may take place at other times. Refer to your Departmental Handbook or the Examinations Office for more information.

University diary

Students with a Tier 4 visa

If you have a Tier 4 visa to study in the UK, you will need to make sure you are aware of the term dates that apply to you and understand your visa conditions and responsibilities.

Clearing 2017

  • Clearing will take place immediately after A-level results are published in August 2017.

Get in touch

Course, admissions and general enquiries