University Of Edinburgh Mathematics

university of edinburgh logo

University Of Edinburgh Mathematics

University Of Edinburgh Mathematics is situated in the James Clerk Maxwell Building within the King’s Buildings campus, 4 km south of Edinburgh city centre. There are over 50 academic and related staff and around 60 research students. The School also runs a number of MSc programmes. Undergraduate courses are given to around 2000 students in any one year. The administration of undergraduate courses is co-ordinated by the Mathematical Teaching Organisation (MTO), which comprises the Teaching Administrator, Deputy Teaching Administrator and administrative staff.

The School was judged “Excellent” in the last Teaching Quality Assessment and was rated 5* (Pure), 5 (Applied) and 4 (Statistics and Operational Research) in the 2001 Research Assessment Exercise. It is committed to maintaining and improving the quality of its teaching provision, including the related administrative procedures. Within the School there are a wide range of research areas and many seminars and colloquia are run throughout the academic year.

Contact details for the School of Mathematics.

  •  Work: +44 (0)131 650 5060
James Clerk Maxwell Building
The King’s Buildings
Peter Guthrie Tait Road

Contact email addresses

Undergraduate For questions about entry requirements and the application process, please contact the College Admissions Office here: undergraduate or postgraduate taught enquiries

For all other questions, please contact:

Postgraduate Research (PhD)
Taught Postgraduate (MSc) For MSc course contacts, please refer to the course information on the Maths MSc website.
Website technical support
Any other enquiries

If you are unsure whom to contact regarding your enquiry, please do not email multiple addresses but email the general enquiries address only, and your enquiry will be forwarded to the appropriate person.

Key contact personnel

Management and Operations (including Finance, HR, Estates)

Head of School Professor Iain Gordon 0131 650 5062
School Administrator Chris Jowett 0131 650 5061
Research & Finance Administrator Dr Jill Douglas 0131 650 6568
Finance & HR Secretary Karen Downie 0131 650 6568
School Operations Secretary Marieke Blair 0131 650 5048
School Operations Secretary Nicole Luu 0131 650 5059

Mathematics Teaching Organisation (MTO)

Administrator Fiona Curle 0131 650 5043
Deputy Administrator Kate Ainsworth 0131 651 7761
Examination Co-ordinator Louise Durie 0131 650 5050
Administrative Assistant Martin Delaney 0131 650 6427
MTO Secretary Alison Fairgrieve 0131 650 5045
MSc & EMS Secretary Frances Reid 0131 650 4883

Teaching & Learning, Student Support, Outreach

Director of Teaching  Dr Toby Bailey 0131 650 5068
Deputy Director of Teaching  Dr Stuart King 0131 651 7032
Senior Personal Tutor (Undergraduate)  Dr Max Ruffert 0131 650 5039
Senior Personal Tutor (Taught Postgraduate)  Dr Burak Buke 0131 650 5840
Student Learning Advisor  Dr Pamela Docherty 0131 650 7151
Mathematics Engagement Officer  Dr Francesca Iezzi 0131 650 5842
Teaching & Recruitment Development Officer  Dr George Kinnear 0131 650 5052


Director of Research Professor Ben Leimkuhler  0131 650 4882
Research & Finance Administrator Dr Jill Douglas  0131 650 6568
For contact details for Heads of Research Groups, please refer to the respective research group pages.

Graduate School of Mathematics

Director of Graduate School Dr Martin Dindos 0131 650 6758
PhD Admissions Advisor Dr Pieter Blue 0131 650 5076
PhD Student Advisor Professor Noel Smyth 0131 650 5080
Graduate School Administrator Mrs Gill Law 0131 650 5085

Computing and IT Support

Maths IT Helpdesk 0131 650 5100
Maths Website Technical Support