University Of Edinburgh Mathematics

By | 1st June 2017

university of edinburgh logo

University Of Edinburgh Mathematics

University Of Edinburgh Mathematics is situated in the James Clerk Maxwell Building within the King’s Buildings campus, 4 km south of Edinburgh city centre. There are over 50 academic and related staff and around 60 research students. The School also runs a number of MSc programmes. Undergraduate courses are given to around 2000 students in any one year. The administration of undergraduate courses is co-ordinated by the Mathematical Teaching Organisation (MTO), which comprises the Teaching Administrator, Deputy Teaching Administrator and administrative staff.

The School was judged “Excellent” in the last Teaching Quality Assessment and was rated 5* (Pure), 5 (Applied) and 4 (Statistics and Operational Research) in the 2001 Research Assessment Exercise. It is committed to maintaining and improving the quality of its teaching provision, including the related administrative procedures. Within the School there are a wide range of research areas and many seminars and colloquia are run throughout the academic year.

Contact details for the School of Mathematics.

  •  Work: +44 (0)131 650 5060
James Clerk Maxwell Building
The King’s Buildings
Peter Guthrie Tait Road
Edinburgh
EH9 3FD

Contact email addresses

Undergraduate For questions about entry requirements and the application process, please contact the College Admissions Office here: undergraduate or postgraduate taught enquiries

For all other questions, please contact: apply@maths.ed.ac.uk

Postgraduate Research (PhD) pgresearch@maths.ed.ac.uk
Taught Postgraduate (MSc) For MSc course contacts, please refer to the course information on the Maths MSc website.
Website technical support webadmin@maths.ed.ac.uk
Any other enquiries queries@maths.ed.ac.uk

If you are unsure whom to contact regarding your enquiry, please do not email multiple addresses but email the general enquiries address only, and your enquiry will be forwarded to the appropriate person.

Key contact personnel

Management and Operations (including Finance, HR, Estates)

Head of School Professor Iain Gordon 0131 650 5062 hos@maths.ed.ac.uk
School Administrator Chris Jowett 0131 650 5061 chris.jowett@ed.ac.uk
Research & Finance Administrator Dr Jill Douglas 0131 650 6568 jill.douglas@ed.ac.uk
Finance & HR Secretary Karen Downie 0131 650 6568 k.downie@ed.ac.uk
School Operations Secretary Marieke Blair 0131 650 5048 m.blair@ed.ac.uk
School Operations Secretary Nicole Luu 0131 650 5059 Nicole.Luu@ed.ac.uk

Mathematics Teaching Organisation (MTO)

Administrator Fiona Curle 0131 650 5043 f.curle@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Administrator Kate Ainsworth 0131 651 7761 Kate.Ainsworth@ed.ac.uk
Examination Co-ordinator Louise Durie 0131 650 5050 l.durie@ed.ac.uk
Administrative Assistant Martin Delaney 0131 650 6427 martin.delaney@ed.ac.uk
MTO Secretary Alison Fairgrieve 0131 650 5045 alison.fairgrieve@ed.ac.uk
MSc & EMS Secretary Frances Reid 0131 650 4883 f.c.reid@ed.ac.uk

Teaching & Learning, Student Support, Outreach

Director of Teaching  Dr Toby Bailey 0131 650 5068 t.n.bailey@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Director of Teaching  Dr Stuart King 0131 651 7032 S.King@ed.ac.uk
Senior Personal Tutor (Undergraduate)  Dr Max Ruffert 0131 650 5039 m.ruffert@ed.ac.uk
Senior Personal Tutor (Taught Postgraduate)  Dr Burak Buke 0131 650 5840 b.buke@ed.ac.uk
Student Learning Advisor  Dr Pamela Docherty 0131 650 7151 p.docherty@ed.ac.uk
Mathematics Engagement Officer  Dr Francesca Iezzi 0131 650 5842 Francesca.Iezzi@ed.ac.uk
Teaching & Recruitment Development Officer  Dr George Kinnear 0131 650 5052 G.Kinnear@ed.ac.uk

Research

Director of Research Professor Ben Leimkuhler  0131 650 4882  B.Leimkuhler@ed.ac.uk
Research & Finance Administrator Dr Jill Douglas  0131 650 6568  jill.douglas@ed.ac.uk
For contact details for Heads of Research Groups, please refer to the respective research group pages.

Graduate School of Mathematics

Director of Graduate School Dr Martin Dindos 0131 650 6758 M.Dindos@ed.ac.uk
PhD Admissions Advisor Dr Pieter Blue 0131 650 5076 p.blue@ed.ac.uk
PhD Student Advisor Professor Noel Smyth 0131 650 5080 n.smyth@ed.ac.uk
Graduate School Administrator Mrs Gill Law 0131 650 5085 g.law@ed.ac.uk

Computing and IT Support

Maths IT Helpdesk 0131 650 5100 support@maths.ed.ac.uk
Maths Website Technical Support webadmin@maths.ed.ac.uk