University Of Edinburgh Chemistry

By | 30th May 2017

University Of Edinburgh Chemistry

History of the School

Old CollegeThe teaching of Chemistry at Edinburgh began almost 300 hundred years ago in 1713 when James Crawford was appointed to the Chair of Physick and Chymistry.

We celebrated our Tercentenary in 2013.

At that time Chemistry was taught as part of courses on medicine and it wasn’t until 1844 and the appointment of William Gregory to the Chair of Chemistry that the subject truly stood apart from medicine at Edinburgh, though as you will discover many of Gregory’s predecessors were Chemists first and foremost. Crawford himself had advocated the separation of Chemistry and medicine, allowing the former to take its rightful place as a science in its own right and this attitude was common among all the professors in the early history of the department. You can read more about these remarkable men in our Professors section.

The department has occupied many sites in its history, from a house at the top of Robertson’s Close in the city centre, to purpose-built facilities in the central campus at Old College and the Medical school through to its current location at King’s Buildings. Each move has brought with it expansions in size and status until the department occupied the position it does now, as one of the world’s leading Chemistry teaching and research establishments.

Today the department carries on the proud traditions of Chemistry at Edinburgh both in teaching and research. Our collaboration with St Andrews to form EaStCHEM will strengthen research in Scotland and our commitment to excellence in teaching which began centuries ago will be carried on well into the future.

 

University of Edinburgh, Joseph Black Building, David Brewster Road, Edinburgh, Scotland EH9 3FJ.
Tel : +44 (0)131 650 7546, Fax : +44 (0)131 650 6453.

Key Contacts

School Administration

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
Head of SchoolProfessor Colin Pulham0131 650 4756C.R.Pulham@ed.ac.uk
PA to Head of School and Executive SecretaryMs Sharon Hawkes0131 650 5858Sharon.Hawkes@ed.ac.uk
Head of Physical SectionDr Philip Camp0131 650 4763philip.camp@ed.ac.uk
Head of Organic SectionProfessor Guy Lloyd-Jones0131 650 4795guy.lloyd-jones@ed.ac.uk
Head of Inorganic SectionProfessor Jason Love0131 650 4762jason.love@ed.ac.uk
Head of Graduate SchoolDr Michael Shaver0131 650 4726michael.shaver@ed.ac.uk
School AdministratorAlison Richardson0131 650 4744A.Richardson@ed.ac.uk
School SecretaryMrs Rona Murdoch0131 650 7546rona.murdoch@ed.ac.uk
Executive SecretaryCarolyn Newton0131 650 4730c.newton@ed.ac.uk
School Administrative OfficerMs Denise Wilson0131 650 4724Denise.Wilson@ed.ac.uk

School Finance

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
Finance & Research AdministratorSheryl Vickery0131 650 6450sheryl.vickery@ed.ac.uk
Finance OfficerMrs Moira Stewart0131 651 3311moira.j.stewart@ed.ac.uk
Finance Officer (Research)Ms Sheila McKay0131 651 7769Sheila.McKay@ed.ac.uk
Research Data and Finance OfficerJane Robertson0131 651 7769jane.robertson@ed.ac.uk

Research, Internationalisation, and Business Development

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
Director of ResearchProfessor Neil McKeown0131 650 4807Neil.McKeown@ed.ac.uk
Director of InternationalisationProfessor Neil Robertson0131 650 4755neil.robertson@ed.ac.uk
Business Development ExecutiveMr Stuart Duncan0131 651 3429S.Duncan@ed.ac.uk
IP Development ManagerDr Keith Finlayson0131 651 7124Keith.Finlayson@ed.ac.uk

Chemistry Teaching Organisation (CTO)

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
CTO DirectorDr Philip Bailey0131 650 6448philip.bailey@ed.ac.uk
Academic AdministratorMs Linda Burns0131 650 6451Linda.Burns@ed.ac.uk
Course SecretaryMrs Moira Wilson0131 650 4754Moira.Wilson@ed.ac.uk
Course SecretaryMrs Susan Maitland0131 650 4707Susan.Maitland@ed.ac.uk
Course SecretaryMs Claire Dickson0131 650 4707Claire.Little@ed.ac.uk
Course SecretaryMrs Anne Brown0131 650 4754Anne.Brown@ed.ac.uk

IT Services

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
IT Services ManagerMr Jim Barclay0131 650 4709j.barclay@ed.ac.uk
Support OfficerMr David Smith0131 650 4709David.C.Smith@ed.ac.uk
Website and eLearning OfficerMr Michael Johnstone0131 650 4709michael.johnstone@ed.ac.uk

Stores

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
Stores ManagerMr John Kenmure0131 650 4776j.kenmure@ed.ac.uk
Waste ManagementMr Tim Calder0131 650 7342tim.calder@ed.ac.uk
Stores AssistantMr Mark Forrest0131 650 7342mark.forrest@ed.ac.uk
Stores AssistantMr Simon Cummings0131 650 7342scummin3@exseed.ed.ac.uk

Technical Services

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
Technical Services ManagerMr Phil McDonald0131 650 4775Philip.McDonald@ed.ac.uk
Deputy Technical Services ManagerDr Ron Brown0131 650 7532Ronald_Brown@ed.ac.uk
GlassblowerMr Stuart Johnstone0131 650 4829stuart.johnstone@ed.ac.uk
Mechanical WorkshopMr David Paden0131 650 4791D.Paden@ed.ac.uk
Electronics WorkshopMr Donald Palin0131 650 4795Donald.Palin@ed.ac.uk
Senior Teaching Lab TechnicianMr Donald Robertson0131 650 4781donald.robertson@ed.ac.uk

Public Engagement

RoleNamePhoneE-mail
Public Engagement and Outreach Co-ordinatorAnna-Maria Maciejuk0131 651 3309A.Maciejuk@ed.ac.uk
Royal Society of Chemistry Education Coordinator, North and East ScotlandDr Heather Milton0131 651 7768heather.milton@ed.ac.uk
Public Engagement and Outreach Co-ordinator (on maternity leave)Dr Jenny Bos0131 651 3309Jenny.Bos@ed.ac.uk

Address and Phone Number

University of Edinburgh
Joseph Black Building
David Brewster Road
Edinburgh
EH9 3FJ
Tel: +44 131 650 7546
Fax: +44 131 650 6453