University of East Anglia Creative Writing

University of East Anglia logo

University of East Anglia Creative Writing

University of East Anglia Creative Writing

Fostering creative writing innovation since the 1960s

Course Convenors:Professor Sir Malcolm Bradbury

Prof Andrew Cowan: Director of Creative Writing (Academic)

Prof Tiffany Atkinson: Director of Creative Writing (Partnerships)

Dr Jacob Huntley: English Literature with Creative Writing BA

Ms Jean McNeil: Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) MA

Mr Henry Sutton: Creative Writing (Prose Fiction) MA

Mr Henry Sutton: Creative Writing (Crime Fiction) MA

Prof Tiffany Atkinson: Creative Writing (Poetry) MA

Mr Steve Waters: Creative Writing (Scriptwriting) MA

Dr Helen Smith: Biography and Creative Non-Fiction MA

Prof Andrew Cowan: Creative Writing MFA

TBC: Creative and Critical Writing PhD

UEA was founded in the 1960s and since its inception the School of Literature, Drama and Creative Writing has paid particular attention to contemporary literature. Its staff include a number of well-known authors and critics. Many internationally renowned writers have lectured here, and several hundred have been interviewed for the year-round Literary Festival, including Martin Amis, Margaret Atwood, Richard Ford, Seamus Heaney, Ted Hughes, Kazuo Ishiguro, Doris Lessing, Norman Mailer, Arthur Miller, Toni Morrison, Salman Rushdie and Muriel Spark, to name but some. Many others have held Writing or Teaching Fellowships, including Richard Beard, Bernadine Evaristo, Helon Habila, Frances Leviston, David Lodge, Adam Mars Jones and Paul Muldoon.

In 2012 the city of Norwich, where UEA has its home, was designated England’s first UNESCO City of Literature. In celebration of this event the School established a Visiting Chair in Creative Writing. The inaugural professors were the playwright Timberlake Wertenbaker and the novelist Ali Smith. These have been followed by James Lasdun, Margaret Atwood, Bill Manhire, Tim Parks and Ian Rankin, each of whom has contributed tutorials, masterclasses and lectures to the Creative Writing programme and participated in public reading events.

The Creative Writing MA, the first of its kind in the UK, was founded in 1970 by the novelist-critics Angus Wilson and Malcolm Bradbury (pictured) in the belief that there were a good number of writers of originality and potential who would welcome the chance to develop their work in a university that emphasized the importance of contemporary writing. Ian McEwan was their inaugural student, and until 1995, when Andrew Motion was appointed Professor of Creative Writing, the MA concentrated on Prose Fiction, reflecting the interests of those who taught it. Since 1996 we have also offered a Poetry MA, which is based on a similar workshop structure to the Prose Fiction MA. In 1998 a Scriptwriting stream was introduced, and in 2000 an MA in Life Writing – now known as the MA in Biography and Creative Non-Fiction – was inaugurated by Lorna Sage and Janet Todd. An MFA in Creative Writing was introduced in 2015, along with a groundbreaking low-residency MA in Crime Fiction.