University of Derby Term Dates

University of Derby logo

University of Derby Term Dates

University of Derby Term Dates

University Committee Schedule and Key Dates

Academic Calendar 16-17

Academic Calendar 17-18‌ (Staff)

Academic Calendar 17-18. (Student)
Key dates for 2016-2017

September 2016
2 Early Get Ahead
5-9 Part time enrolment week
8-9 Get Ahead
8-9 Meet and Greet Airport Pick up (3)
10 Welcome Day – Moving into halls
10-25 Fresher’s Fortnight
12 Term 1 begins (1)
12-16 Induction week/teaching begins (1)
12-16 Full time enrolment week (4)
 November 2016
12 Buxton Graduation Ceremony
16 Programme Rep Conference
24-25 Derby Graduation Ceremonies
19 December – 2 January University holiday
January 2017
3 Term 2 begins (1)
3-13 Exam and Assessment period (2)
6 Meet and Greet Airport Pick up(3)
9-13 Induction/Enrolment week for January starts (4)
16-22 Refreshers
10 April – 21 April University holiday
April 2017
24 Term 3 begins (1)
May 2017
2-12 Exam and Assessment period (2)
June 2017
7-13 Progress Boards(5)
14-23 Resit exam period
26 June – 11 September University holiday
July 2017
1 Moving out day in halls (5)
12-14 Derby Graduation Ceremonies
17-21 Resit board

(1) Check with your programme team for variations
(2) May include other types of assessments
(3) Free service for International Students only. Booking in advance is essiential.  Derby and Buxton dates may vary
(4) Allocated programme specific enrolment slots will be indicated in your first week schedule
(5) Also known as a Assessment Board
(6) Flamsteed Court moving out day is 16 July


The University of Derby (formerly Derby College of Art and Technology or simply Derby College) is a public university in the city of Derby, England. It traces its history back to the establishment of the Derby Diocesan Institution for the Training of Schoolmistresses in 1851 and gained university status in 1992 as one of the new universities.

The university provides over 300 study programmes at undergraduate level. Undergraduate programmes as well as short courses, foundation degrees and postgraduate degrees cover most academic disciplines and subdisciplines.

Currently the university is home to around 34,000 students in all areas of study.