University College London Notable Alumni

University College London Logo

University College London Notable Alumni

University College London Notable Alumni

Notable alumni

Notable UCL alumni include:

– artists including Sir William Coldstream (realist painter), Wyndham Lewis (vorticist painter), Antony Gormley (sculptor), Augustus John (painter, draughtsman and etcher), Gerry Judah (artist and designer), Ben Nicholson (abstract painter), Sir Eduardo Paolozzi (sculptor and artist) and Ibrahim el-Salahi (artist painter and former diplomat);

– authors including Edith Clara Batho, Raymond Briggs, Robert Browning, G. K. Chesterton, David Crystal, Stella Gibbons, Clive Sansom, Sean Thomas, Marie Stopes, Helen MacInnes, Rabindranath Tagore and Demetrius Vikelas (who was also the first President of the International Olympic Committee);

– businesspeople including Colin Chapman (founder of Lotus Cars), Demis Hassabis (co-founder and CEO of DeepMind), Lord Digby Jones (former Director-General of the Confederation of British Industry)and Edwin Waterhouse (founding partner of the professional services firm PwC);

– doctors and surgeons including Archie Cochrane (medic, researcher, and pioneer of evidence-based medicine), Jane Dacre (current President of the Royal College of Physicians), Jeremy Farrar (current Director of the Wellcome Trust), Clare Gerada (previous President of the Royal College of General Practitioners), Joseph Lister (pioneer of antiseptic surgery) and Clare Marx (current President of the Royal College of Surgeons of England);

Alexander Graham Bell

– engineers and scientists including Alexander Graham Bell (inventor of the telephone), Francis Crick (co-discoverer of the structure of DNA),Hans Eysenck (psychologist who created the modern scientific theory of personality), John Ambrose Fleming (inventor of the vacuum tube), Jaroslav Heyrovský (father of the electroanalytical method) and Charles Kuen Kao (pioneer of the use of fibre optics in telecommunications);

– entertainers, musicians, composers and filmmakers including Ken Adam (designer famous for set designs for the James Bond films), Brett Anderson (lead singer of the band Suede), Justine Frischmann (lead singer of the band Elastica), Ricky Gervais (comedian and actor), Gustav Holst (composer), all of the members of the band Coldplay (Chris Martin, Jonny Buckland, Guy Berryman and Will Champion), Christopher Nolan (director of films including The Dark Knight saga), Franny Armstrong (director), Tim Rice-Oxley and Richard Hughes (members of the band Keane), and Jonathan Ross (television presenter);

– journalists and commentators including A. A. Gill (columnist), three former editors of The Economist, most notably Walter Bagehot, two editors of The Times Literary Supplement, Jonathan Dimbleby (television and radio current affairs presenter), Tom Dyckhoff (architecture critic and TV presenter), former ITN Home Affairs Correspondent Sarah Cullen and Simon Inglis (architectural historian and sports writer);

– politicians including Mahatma Gandhi (leader of the Indian independence movement), Jomo Kenyatta (first Prime Minister, first President and “Father of the Nation” of Kenya), Kwame Nkrumah (first Prime Minister, President and “Founder” of Ghana and “Father” of African Nationalism), Sir Seewoosagur Ramgoolam (first Prime Minister and “Father of the Nation” of Mauritius), Chaim Herzog (former President of Israel), Sir Abubakar Tafawa Balewa (first Prime Minister of Nigeria), Itō Hirobumi (first Prime Minister of Japan), Junichiro Koizumi (former Prime Minister of Japan), Wu Tingfang (Acting Premier during the early years of the Republic of China), and Sir Stafford Cripps (former Chancellor of the Exchequer);

– lawyers including a Lord Chancellor (Lord Herschell); Chief Justices of England (Lord Woolf), Hong Kong (Sir William Meigh Goodman and Sir Yang Ti-liang), the British Supreme Court for China and Japan (Sir Nicholas John Hannen), India (A. S. Anand), Malaysia (Arifin Zakaria), Nigeria (Samuel Eson Johnson Ecoma), Ghana (Samuel Azu Crabbe), The Straits Settlements (Sir G. Aubrey Goodman) and the Eastern Caribbean Supreme Court (Rt. Hon. Sir Vincent Floissac); two Masters of the Rolls (Lord Cozens-Hardy and Sir George Jessel); and Attorneys-General of England (Lord Goldsmith and Baroness Scotland), Singapore (Tan Boon Teik and Chao Hick Tin), Hong Kong (Thomas Chisholm Anstey) and Gambia (Hassan Bubacar Jallow);

– sports people including David Gower (former captain of the England cricket team), Patrick Head (co-founder of the Williams Formula One team) and Christine Ohuruogu (Olympic and World 400 metres gold medalist); and

– statisticians including Karl Pearson (founder of the world’s first university statistics department at UCL) and Kirstine Smith (credited with the creation of optimal design of experiments).




University College London

Gower Street, London

WC1E 6BT +44 (0)20 7679 2000