University Of Bristol Red

By | 8th May 2017

University of Bristol logo

University Of Bristol Red

Research and Enterprise Development (RED) supports, and works closely alongside the academic, student and entrepreneur communities to help sustain, and grow, activities that create the culture, reputation, and impact that define the University of Bristol. We do this through our multi-disciplinary teams of professionals who use their expertise and knowledge to provide advice, guidance and support across the broad, diverse and fascinating research and enterprise found at the University. We constantly strive to add value in all we do, and contribute to what makes the University the magnificent place it is.

RED has always supported scholars, researchers and innovators throughout the many stages of these endeavours, but perhaps our greatest focus is in helping to maximise and accelerate the impact of those discoveries. This could be through co-ordinating large collaborative bids; managing complicated interdisciplinary projects; ensuring research complies with regulations and good practice; brokering collaborations with businesses, developing the innovators of the future, or protecting and commercialising intellectual property through a licensing or spin out opportunity.

We work closely with a range of funding bodies, organisations and businesses, both established and start-ups, and are often the entry portal to the University. Whether you’re an organisation looking to work with us, a world leading academic, an early career researcher, or a student entrepreneur, you’ll find RED has much of the expertise and knowledge needed to help you achieve your aspirations.

General enquiries

Research and Enterprise Development
3rd Floor, Senate House
Tyndall Avenue
Bristol, BS8 1TH

Tel: +44 (0)117 928 8676
Email: red-office@bristol.ac.uk

Organisation chart

RED organisation chart (pdf) (PDF, 101kB)

Key contacts

Role Name Telephone Email
Director of Research and Enterprise Development Dr David Langley +44 (0117) 92 88457
Programme Manager – Temple Quarter Dr Neil Bradshaw +44 (0)117 92 87792 neil.bradshaw@bristol.ac.uk
Interim Director of Enterprise Dr Lorna Colquhoun +44 (0)117 33 18291 lorna.colquhoun@bristol.ac.uk
PA to Director/Office Manager Mrs Gurjeet Kaur + 44 (0)117 92 88318 pa-red@bristol.ac.uk
Head of Commercialisation Mrs Sue Sundstrom + 44 (0)117 33 17003 sue.sundstrom@bristol.ac.uk
Engine Shed Director Mr Nick Sturge +44 (0)117 90 31120 nick.sturge@bristol.ac.uk
Head of Contracts and Programme Management Dr Peter Ereaut +44 (0)117 92 89003 peter.ereaut@bristol.ac.uk
Head of Research and Enterprise Policy Dr Sophie Collet +44 (0)117 33 17169 sophie.collet@bristol.ac.uk
Interim Head of Research Development Dr Simon Gray +44 (0)117 33 17546 simon.gray@bristol.ac.uk
Head of Research Governance Dr Birgit Whitman +44 (0)117 33 17130 birgit.whitman@bristol.ac.uk
Head of Public Engagement Dr Kate Miller +44 (0)117 33 18321 Kate.Miller@bristol.ac.uk
Head of Animal Services Unit Dr Nicola Watts +44 (0)117 33 11946 Nicola.Watts@bristol.ac.uk