University of Bradford Grading System

University of Bradford logo

University of Bradford Grading System

Institutional Grading Criteria

The Institutional Grading Criteria‌, approved in 2011 provides a framework for ensuring comparability and consistency across the University, while allowing the flexibility required for different subjects and discipline areas, as well as compliance with PSRB requirements, for example.

Schools are expected to produce a document detailing the marking schemes adopted by all programmes and how they are aligned to the Institutional Grading Criteria.

All programmes are expected to have marking criteria at all levels aligned with the Institutional Grading Criteria.

Abut University of Bradford

The University of Bradford is a public, plate glass university located in the city of Bradford, West Yorkshire, England. The university received its Royal Charter in 1966, making it the 40th university to be created in Britain, but its origins date back to the early 19th century. There are two campuses: the main campus located on Richmond Road and the School of Management, at Emm Lane.

The student population includes 8,395 undergraduate and 2,815 postgraduate students. Mature students make up around a third of the undergraduate community. 22% of students are foreign, and come from over 110 different countries. There were 14,406 applications to the university through UCAS in 2010, of which 3,421 were accepted.

It was the first British university to establish a Department of Peace Studies in 1973, which is currently the world’s largest university centre for the study of peace and conflict. The division has a reputation as a centre of excellence in peace research, international relations, security studies, conflict resolution and development and peace studies.