University of Bath 1994 Group

University of Bath 1994 Group

University of Bath

The 1994 Group was a coalition of smaller research-intensive universities in the United Kingdom, founded in 1994 to defend these universities’ interests following the creation of the Russell Group by larger research-intensive universities earlier that year. The 1994 Group originally represented seventeen universities, rising to nineteen, and then dropping to eleven. The Group started to falter in 2012, when a number of high performing members left to join the Russell Group. The 1994 Group ultimately dissolved in November 2013.


InstitutionLocationEstablishedGained university statusVice-chancellor
(or equivalent)
Total number of studentsResearch funding (£Thousand)
Birkbeck, University of LondonLondon18231920Professor David Latchman
University of East AngliaNorwich19631963Professor David Richardson19,58516,482
University of EssexColchester19641964Professor Anthony Forster11,6909,967
Goldsmiths, University of LondonLondon18911904Dr Pat Loughrey
Institute of Education, University of LondonLondon19021932Professor Chris Husbands
University of LancasterLancaster19641964Professor Mark Smith12,69518,640
University of LeicesterLeicester19211957Professor Sir Robert Burgess16,16022,225
Loughborough UniversityLoughborough19091966Professor Robert Allison17,82522,398
Royal Holloway, University of LondonEgham18491900Professor Paul Layzell
SOAS, University of LondonLondon19161916Professor Paul Webley (Director)4,5257,238
University of SussexBrighton19611961Professor Michael Farthing12,41516,196

1994 Group position in league tables

(2013, World)
(2013/14, World)
(2013/14, World)
(2014, National)
The Guardian[9]
(2014, National)
Times/Sunday Times[10]
(2014, National)
Birkbeck, University of London374201–225
University of East Anglia201–300229174201717
University of Essex401–500338251–275396339
Goldsmiths, University of London461–470515848
Institute of Education, University of London
University of Lancaster301–400156137111112
University of Leicester201–300202161161314
Loughborough University244351–400141421
Royal Holloway, University of London265102303828
School of Oriental and African Studies337332224
University of Sussex101–150193121315032