University of Arts London IELTS Requirement

University of Arts London IELTS Requirement

All students need to show proof of their English language ability to enrol at University of the Arts London (UAL).

Most students from outside the UK need to submit an English language test as proof of their language ability. If you need help to reach the required language level, UAL’s Language Centre offers a range of English courses and a Presessionalcourse for students with a conditional or unconditional offer.

Current students at UAL, progressing to the next level of university study (e.g. from Foundation to BA) can take UAL’s progress test to achieve the IELTS score required for the next level.

To find out if you are exempt from English language testing, please read Exemptions from language testing at the bottom of this page.

Minimum IELTS scores

Our IELTS requirements vary depending on the course and level of study. The requirement for each course is shown on the individual course pages.

As a general guide, below are the standard IELTS requirements for our courses. However, many of our courses require a higher IELTS score than these standard grades, so you should check the relevant course page to find the requirement for your chosen course.

NQF Level Course types Overall Reading Writing Listening Speaking
Further education:
NQF level 3
Access to HE Diploma 5.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0
Further education: NQF level 4 Foundation Diploma 5.0 4.0 4.0 4.0 4.0
NQF level 4 & 5
Cert HE, Foundation Degree
(FdA, FdSc)
5.5 4.5 4.5  4.5 4.5
NQF level 6
Practice-based courses:
BA, Grad Dip
6.0 5.5 5.5 5.5 5.5
  Theory-based courses:
BA, Grad Dip
6.5 5.5 5.5 5.5 5.5
NQF level 7
Practice-based courses:
MA, MDes, MRes, MSc, PG Cert, Pg Dip
 6.5 5.5  5.5 5.5 5.5
  Theory-based courses:
MA, MDes, MRes, MSc, PG Cert, Pg Dip
7.0 6.0 6.0 6.0 6.0

English language tests

In addition to IELTS, UAL accepts several other English language tests. The charts below show the tests that we accept and how their scores compare to our IELTS requirements for each level of university study.  All tests are valid for two years only.

Where we state ‘IELTS Academic for UKVI’, you must provide a certificate for this test. IELTS Academic (not for UKVI) cannot be used to support a Tier 4 visa application for these levels of study. The University does not accept IELTS General or IELTS General for UKVI for any level of course.

Please note that if you take an Cambridge IGCSE exam, you must provide two documents:

  • The Certificate
  • The Supplementary Certifying Statement. You will need to request this and pay the fee.