St Mary’s University Visit

St Mary's University, Twickenham Logo

St Mary’s University Visit

Visiting Students

If you are currently enrolled in a degree or diploma program at another university and would like to take courses at Saint Mary’s, you can apply as a visiting student. Applications are accepted year-round. Before you apply, it is important that you ensure the courses you complete at Saint Mary’s are transferable to your degree at your home institution. This generally means obtaining a letter of permission that lets us know that you have approval to register in classes at Saint Mary’s.

Here is how you can apply to Saint Mary’s as a Visiting Student: 

  1. Complete and mail the application for admission.
  2. Send supporting documentation, including a letter of intent indicating your intended duration of study, the intended field of study, confirmation that you are applying for undergraduate study and your email address.
  3. Obtain a letter of permission issued by your home institution advising us that you are in good academic standing there.
  4. Register for classes online through Self Service Banner. You can find your SMU ID number in your letter of acceptance.

Note: Saint Mary’s University does not require official testing scores from visiting students, but expects that undergraduate students have English proficiency equivalent to our minimum English proficiency requirements. If testing scores are not available, please submit a written statement issued by the international office or by a faculty member which attests that your English skills are adequate for undergraduate university study.

Visit us

Our address

St Mary’s University
Waldegrave Road
Strawberry Hill
Twickenham
TW1 4SX

Naylor Library

99 Waldegrave Road
TW11 8LA

Teddington Lock campus

Broom Road
TW11 9NW


Service departments and general information
Service Email Phone
Accommodation accommodation@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4034
Alumni alumni@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4007
The Bar N/A 020 8240 4054
Careers careers@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4055
Catering catering@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4065
Chaplaincy chaplaincy@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4002
Community Concerns comment@stmarys.ac.uk N/A
Conferences and Events conferences@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 8219
Counselling counselling@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4187
Disability and Dyslexia wellbeing@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4353
Educational Liaison schools.colleges@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4247
Endurance Performance and Coaching Centre (EPACC) epacc@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 2384
Estates and Facilities estates@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4096 / 4036
Fees Office feesoffice@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4035
Health Centre medical@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4100
Housekeeping N/A 020 8240 4068
International international@stmarys.ac.uk +44 (0)20 8240 4192
IT Services helpdesk@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4061
Library enquiry@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4097
Marketing marketing@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4289
Scholarships scholarships@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4031
Security and Safety N/A 020 8240 4335
Strawberry Hill Overseas and Community Concern (SHOCC) cook.k3@sky.com 020 8979 7405
Sport and Health Services sportandhealthservices@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4070
Sport St Mary’s sportsvillage@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4334
Student Funding studentfundingservice@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4048
Student Recruitment student.recruitment@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 2314
Student Services studentservices@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 8238
Registry registryservices@stmarys.ac.uk N/A
Widening Participation schools.colleges@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4247
Work Placements cwl@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4152