St Mary’s University School of Law

St Mary's University, Twickenham Logo

St Mary’s University School of Law

St Mary’s University School of Law, St. Mary’s University School of Law is one of the professional graduate schools of St. Mary’s University. The law school is located in San Antonio, Texas, USA and is the oldest Catholic law school in the American Southwest. The University is a private Catholic university. The School of Law has an enrollment of about 860 students, pursuing either Juris Doctor (J.D.), Master of Laws (LL.M.), or Master of Jurisprudence (M.Jur.). degrees. St. Mary’s is the first law school in Texas to offer the M.Jur., the graduate degree in the study of law for students not seeking to enter the practice of law.

According to St. Mary’s 2014 ABA-required disclosures, 1,154 people applied for admission to a class of 254.


The School of Law hosts the St. Mary’s University Institute on World Legal Problems in Innsbruck, in the Tyrol region of Austria, which students have the opportunity to attend each summer. Currently under the direction of Professor Michael Ariens and Professor Mark Cochran, several prominent legal scholars have taught courses or lectured at the institute, including Chief Justice of the United States William Rehnquist, who returned for several summers, and Frank Höpfel, ad litem judge on the International Criminal Tribunal for the former Yugoslavia. The 2009 Distinguished Visiting Jurist was Supreme Court Associate Justice Samuel Alito.