St Mary’s University Kansas

St Mary's University, Twickenham Logo

St Mary’s University Kansas

The University of Saint Mary (USM) is a private liberal arts university in Leavenworth, Kansas, United States. It is sponsored by the Sisters of Charity of Leavenworth, who established it as Saint Mary College. Though it was originally a school for women, the school is now coeducational. The mother house of the order is also on the premises. At one time the nuns’ property had its own post office, Xavier, Kansas, the name honoring St. Francis Xavier.

The University of Saint Mary offers 26 bachelor’s degree programs and six master’s degree programs, including Master of Business Administration, Master of Arts in Psychology, Counseling Psychology, Education, Adaptive Special Education, and Teaching. Traditional, evening, degree completion, and online classes are available.

The University of Saint Mary’s mission is “to educate students of diverse backgrounds to realize their God-given potential and prepare them for value-centered lives and careers that contribute to the well being of our global society.


The main campus of USM is located between 200 acres (0.81 km2) of hills in Leavenworth, Kansas, and is the location of undergraduate classrooms, two residential halls (Berchman’s Hall and Maria Hall), and the main academic and administrative offices. It is near a nature preserve and has stately academic buildings, indoor athletic facilities, and outdoor playing fields.

The Overland Park Campus is in Overland Park, Kansas, on College Boulevard, near Roe Avenue and off of I435. This campus hosts evening master’s degree classes and degree-completion programs. Its main function is accelerated degree completion and graduate programs and it is home to various resource centers.

The Wyandotte County Campus is located inside Providence Medical Center. It hosts master’s degree classrooms and degree completion programs year round.

Saint Mary’s offers Masters in Art education at Sacred Heart in Shawnee, Kansas, and has an online degree program given in eight-week sessions. Some of the buildings on these campuses are Annunciation Chapel, Saint Mary Hall, Xavier Courtyard, DePaul Library, McGilley Fieldhouse, Kehoe Memorial Baseball Field, Charles J. Berkel Memorial Stadium and the Ryan Sports Center