St Mary’s University Irish Studies

St Mary's University, Twickenham Logo

St Mary’s University Irish Studies

Why pursue Irish Studies?

Explore Irish history, language, traditions and culture. Expand your knowledge of Irish poetry and politics. Don’t just study conflict and its effects — take part in a volunteer conflict resolution project in Ireland. Saint Mary’s is the only university in Canada where you can get an undergraduate Irish Studies degree.

The Saint Mary’s approach

This unique, interdisciplinary program will equip you with valuable research, interpersonal and communication skills. Studying a new language and culture will also enhance cultural sensitivity. There are many opportunities to earn awards in this program, including the Allister and Josephine Cannon Scholarship and the Ireland Canada University Foundation (ICUF) Gaeltacht Scholarships.

Hands-on learning

There are many opportunities to apply your learning outside of the classroom. Each year, students in the Conflict Resolution Society travel to Northern Ireland to take part in a volunteer conflict resolution project. Students have also studied in Ireland for a summer on an Ireland Canada University Foundation Scholarship and hosted the D’Arcy McGee Lecture in Irish Studies.

Sample courses offered:

  • Intro to Modern Irish
  • Irish Musical Tradition
  • Irish Folklore
  • Ireland: An Introduction
  • Irish Drama in the 20th Century
  • Issues in Modern Irish History

Future career opportunities:

  • Historian
  • Language instructor
  • Writer
  • Genealogist
  • Journalist
  • Museum curator

What our students are saying

“Pádraig Ó Siadhail is a great prof and the reason I learned the language without much difficulty. I received the ICUF scholarship for 2009 and spent a month in An Cheathrú Rua, a small town in the Connamara Gaeltacht attending summer school for Irish language students.”

Our address

St Mary’s University
Waldegrave Road
Strawberry Hill
Twickenham
TW1 4SX

Naylor Library

99 Waldegrave Road
TW11 8LA

Teddington Lock campus

Broom Road
TW11 9NW


Service departments and general information
Service Email Phone
Accommodation accommodation@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4034
Alumni alumni@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4007
The Bar N/A 020 8240 4054
Careers careers@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4055
Catering catering@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4065
Chaplaincy chaplaincy@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4002
Community Concerns comment@stmarys.ac.uk N/A
Conferences and Events conferences@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 8219
Counselling counselling@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4187
Disability and Dyslexia wellbeing@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4353
Educational Liaison schools.colleges@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4247
Endurance Performance and Coaching Centre (EPACC) epacc@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 2384
Estates and Facilities estates@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4096 / 4036
Fees Office feesoffice@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4035
Health Centre medical@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4100
Housekeeping N/A 020 8240 4068
International international@stmarys.ac.uk +44 (0)20 8240 4192
IT Services helpdesk@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4061
Library enquiry@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4097
Marketing marketing@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4289
Scholarships scholarships@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4031
Security and Safety N/A 020 8240 4335
Strawberry Hill Overseas and Community Concern (SHOCC) cook.k3@sky.com 020 8979 7405
Sport and Health Services sportandhealthservices@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4070
Sport St Mary’s sportsvillage@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4334
Student Funding studentfundingservice@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4048
Student Recruitment student.recruitment@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 2314
Student Services studentservices@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 8238
Registry registryservices@stmarys.ac.uk N/A
Widening Participation schools.colleges@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4247
Work Placements cwl@stmarys.ac.uk 020 8240 4152