St Mary’s University in Addis Ababa

St Mary's University, Twickenham Logo

St Mary’s University in Addis Ababa

St Mary’s University in Addis Ababa, St. Mary’s University (SMU), established in 1998, is an Ethiopian institution of higher learning located in the capital Addis Ababa. After fifteen years of service as a college first and a university college since 2008, it earned university status from the Ethiopian Ministry of Education in September 2013.

The university has four campuses in Addis Ababa, 13 Distance Education Regional Centers, and 160 Coordination Offices throughout the country. It has 200 full-time academic staff and 1000 employees. It caters to the needs of six thousand undergraduate students, twenty thousand students enrolled in distance education programs, and two thousand students in graduate programs.

Eight graduate programs are run in partnership with Indira Gandhi National Open University (IGNOU). These programs include Business Administration, Public Administration, Library and Information Science, Sociology, Economics, Commerce, Rural Development and Political Science in the distance mode of learning.

In the conventional mode of learning, SMU is accredited for ten graduate programs: MBA, HRM,Project Management, Accounting and Finance, Marketing management, Development Economics, Computer Science, Agribusiness, Agricultural Economics and Rural Development. The university has a testing center that provides standardized tests, job placement tests, and international tests such as the IBT- TOEFL and GRE.

SMU has opened a K-12 school that is widening its reach in the realms of general education.