St Mary’s University Emmitsburg MD

St Mary's University, Twickenham Logo

St Mary’s University Emmitsburg MD

16300 Old Emmitsburg Road | Emmitsburg, MD 21727
Map & Directions | | 301-447-6122
Frederick Campus | 5350 Spectrum Drive | Frederick, MD 21703
Map & Directions | | 301-682-8315

Mount St. Mary’s University (also known as The Mount) is a private, liberal arts, Catholic university in the Catoctin Mountains near historic Emmitsburg, Maryland.

The undergraduate university is divided into four schools: the College of Liberal Arts, the Richard J. Bolte School of Business, the School of Education & Human Services, and the School of Natural Science and Mathematics. The university has more than 40 majors, minors, concentrations and special programs, including bachelor’s/master’s combinations in partnership with other universities.

The university also offers eight master’s degree programs and six postgraduate certificate programs.

The campus includes the second largest Catholic seminary in the United States, where future priests study in the Ordination/Master of Divinity program. Lay students can pursue a Master of Theology Arts at the seminary.

Karl Einolf served briefly as acting university president, following the resignation of Simon P. Newman. Former academic dean of the United States Military Academy Brigadier General (ret.) Timothy Trainor, was announced as the interim president on a two-year contract in June 2016. Trainor was named the permanent president on June 3, 2017.

The seminary’s rector and president is Monsignor Andrew R. Baker. The chancellor of the seminary is the current Archbishop of the Roman Catholic Archdiocese of Baltimore, the Most Reverend William E. Lori.