Queen’s University Belfast Buildings
The Lanyon Building’s front façade is instantly recognisable and is often seen on banknotes, billboards and tourist posters. The campus contains over 100 buildings which are listed as being of special architectural and historic merit
The centrepiece and the enduring symbol of Queen’s University is the original building, completed in 1849.
It is now known as the Lanyon Building after its architect, the renowned Sir Charles Lanyon. His design borrows from the Gothic and Tudor character of the great medieval universities, and in particular from Magdalen College, Oxford.
The most dramatic space in the university, it houses portraits of many inspiring and influential Queen’s people.
In 2000 a restoration of the Hall was undertaken which would later receive an RIBA Award.
Also known as the Black and White Hall, it can be found through the main doors of the Lanyon Building.
The central statue of Galileo, by Pio Fedi, was installed in the hall in 2001 as part of the restoration of the adjacent Great Hall.
The Lynn Building
Named after its architect, William Henry Lynn, and designed in a vibrant Ruskinian Gothic style, it was originally the main library.
It is now the home to The Graduate School, having been sympathetically restored and remodeled in 2015.