Northumbria University Press Office

Northumbria University Newcastle Logo

Northumbria University Press Office

The Press Office is a team of media professionals with responsibility for media relations and key aspects of internal and corporate communications.

Our Services

We write press releases, deal with media inquiries, monitor the media, organise media training for staff and provide an online list of experts for journalists. We advise University staff on good practice and seek to maintain good relations and contacts with journalists.

Our internal and corporate communications role includes the production of NU Connections, the fortnightly online magazine for staff and other external readers; News Briefing, the daily media bulletin; the University’s Profile and Annual Review; and the Key Facts booklet.

We also contribute editorial material on a regular basis to various internal and external media, such as Arches, the University’s alumni magazine, and to stakeholder publications.

For Press Office enquiries please call +44 191 208 7850, or email press.office@ncl.ac.uk

Follow us on Twitter for the latest news and updates: @uniofnewcastle

The Team

  • Karen Bidewell profile image

    Karen Bidewell

    Senior Media Relations Manager (Medical Sciences)
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 6972
    Email: karen.bidewell@ncl.ac.uk

  • Louella Houldcroft profile image

    Louella Houldcroft

    Senior Communications Manager (Science, Agriculture and Engineering)
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 5108
    Email: louella.houldcroft@ncl.ac.uk

  • Lyndsay Short profile image

    Lyndsay Short

    Media Relations Manager (Humanities and Social Sciences)
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 5669
    Email: lyndsay.short@ncl.ac.uk

  • Helen Rae profile image

    Helen Rae

    Media Relations Manager (Medical Sciences)
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 7374
    Email: helen.rae@ncl.ac.uk

  • Dawn Tudge profile image

    Dawn Tudge

    Media Relations Manager
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 6067
    Email: dawn.tudge@ncl.ac.uk

  • Ivan Lazarov profile image

    Ivan Lazarov

    Assistant Media Relations Officer
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 7850
    Email: ivan.lazarov@ncl.ac.uk

  • Abi Kelly profile image

    Abi Kelly

    Executive Director of Corporate Affairs
    Tel: +44 (0) 191 208 5893
    Email: abi.kelly@ncl.ac.uk

    The Press Office is part of the Corporate Affairs Directorate led by Abi Kelly

Please direct media enquiries to the Press Team as above.