King’s College London Pgce

King’s College London logo

King’s College London Pgce

King’s College London Pgce

School Direct Programme

King’s College London have been training teachers for over 120 years and have developed and maintained a reputation for excellence in our training methods, the quality of our staff and the standards of the new teachers who graduate from our programmes.  We currently specialise in secondary level Initial Teacher Education (ITE).

We seek to maintain a sensible balance between the two essential components of Initial Teacher Eduction – the theoretical foundations and the practical experience – whatever the route taken.

School Direct is a relatively new mode of initial teacher training (ITT) which is intended to enable schools to work more closely with King’s College London to train teachers.  In common with the ‘traditional’ PGCE at King’s, the aim of School Direct is for colleagues in schools to work alongside College tutors to ensure that ITT is of the highest academic and theoretical quality, whilst better meeting the needs of schools and trainees.

How does School Direct work at King’s College London?

The College offers two School Direct routes:

1.   Postgraduate Certificate in Education (School Direct) (PGCE + QTS)

Trainee teachers follow a programme closely modelled on the highly successful ‘traditional’ PGCE at King’s. Trainees obtain a Postgraduate Certificate in Education (PGCE), which includes 60 ctredits towards a master’s qualification, as well as obtaining QTS (Qualified Teacher Status). This is open to good graduates and is funded by tuition fees. Bursaries are available from the National College for Teaching and Leadership. For information about bursaries click here.

The master’s level modules will require trainees  to complete written assignments. Master’s level credits can be used towards gaining a master’s level qualification at a later date. A full masters consists of 180 credits in total, so this course is the equivalent to one-third of a master’s qualification.

2.   Employment-based School Direct Training (QTS only)

This is an employment-based ITT course which is open to good graduates with at least three years’ work experience (work experience need not be in a teaching-related sector). Trainees on this route will earn a salary whilst they train.

 

Contact Us

PGCE Admissions

All admissions enquiries from prospective students should be made through the King’s Admissions Team.

King’s Admissions Team
King’s College London
James Clerk Maxwell Building
57 Waterloo Road
London
SE1 8WA
Tel: +44 (0) 20 7848 2979
Fill in our enquiry form

Email addresses for individual subject Admissions Tutors are below. If you have a question related specifically to the subject you wish to study, please contact the relevant PGCE subject Admissions tutor.

Admissions Tutors

Director of Initial Teacher Education:: Dr Simon Gibbons

simon.gibbons@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Programme Director; Dr Karen Skilling

karen.skilling@kcl.ac.uk 

PGCE Biology: Dr Melissa Glackin

melissa.glackin@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Chemistry: Katherine Richardson

katherine.v.richardson@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Classics: Dr Aisha Khan-Evans

aisha.khan-evans@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE English: Dr Bethan Marshall

bethan.marshall@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Computer Science and Information Technology: Dr Sue Sentance

sue.sentance@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Mathematics: Jayne Kranat

jayne.kranat@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE RE: Angela Wright

angela.wright@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Physics and Physics with Mathematics: Alex Manning

alex.manning@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE MFL: Dr Jane Jones

jane.jones@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Office

Enquiries from schools, current and former students (including requests for transcripts) can be made through the below contacts. If you are a prospective student with questions regarding the PGCE course, please contact the Admissions service (above) in the first instance:

Des Bates
Senior ITE Officer – Schools’ Liaison
Tel: 020 7848 3160
Email: pgce@kcl.ac.uk; desmond.bates@kcl.ac.uk

School Direct
For all School Direct queries, please email schooldirect@kcl.ac.uk

PGCE Office  (1/1)   Department of Education & Professional Studies
King’s College London
Franklin-Wilkins Building (WBW)
Waterloo Road
London SE1 9NH
Waterloo Campus Map