Keele University Halls
As a campus university, Keele has over 3,000 bedrooms on site with a range of accommodation available and all within a short walk of the centre of campus. To keep up with demand, additional accommodation is being built on campus to over a range of social spaces and types of room to suit students’ needs.
Barnes Hall overlooks the Sports Centre and playing fields. It provides rooms for approximately 650 students. There’s also a student bar with adjacent launderette and common room.
Hawthorns Hall is in quiet Keele village and provides rooms where over 600 students live.
In 1160 Henry II gifted Keele to the Templar Knights, and many areas bear witness to this (for example in Keele village, we have Knights Croft and our bar at Hawthorns is called Templar Bar). To this day, Hawthorns has kept its sense of a unique community. It is a vibrant and energetic place to live.
Horwood Hall is on the east side of campus between woodland and Keele’s many lakes making it a great place to relax. It provides rooms for approximately 750 students.
Lindsay Hall is at the south of the campus, and overlooks the adjacent farmland. It provides rooms for over 700 students.
Lindsay Hall takes its name from Lord Lindsay who was Master of Balliol College, Oxford, and founder of Keele University. An early and singular experiment, emerging from the era of post-war austerity and idealism, Keele University’s creation was driven by Lindsay’s vision and the needs of an impoverished local community.
Holly Cross & The Oaks Hall
Holly Cross and The Oaks are on the the south-west of the campus, between Keele village and the lecture theatres. It provides accommodation for over 400 students. The land upon which Keele lies was gifted to the Knights of Templar by Henry I around 1160, as a reward for the services rendered in Normandy.
Privileges given to the Knights of Templar were marked with the Templar Cross. The Cross lives on in the name of Holly Cross. The reference to ‘Holly’ is due to the building being located in the area of the estate famed for its holly hedge in the past – much of it is still in place. The name of ‘The Oaks’ is taken from the four oak trees which were situated on the land before The Oaks was built.