Institute of Education Reading Recovery

Institute of Education logo

Institute of Education Reading Recovery

Institute of Education Reading Recovery

Reading Recovery

Reading Recovery is an accredited school-based literacy programme for the lowest achieving children aged five or six that enables them to reach age-expected levels within 20 weeks.

It involves a short series of one-to-one lessons for 30 minutes every day with a specially trained teacher. The programme is different for every child, starting from what the child knows and what he/she needs to learn next. The focus of each lesson is to comprehend messages in reading and construct messages in writing, learning how to attend to detail without losing focus on meaning.

What difference does Reading Recovery make?

With Reading Recovery:

• you will be able to identify children with literacy difficulties early and offer a means of resolving them

• you can be sure that the lowest attaining children will succeed in literacy

• you will not just narrow the attainment gap for disadvantaged children, you will close it

• you will see improved opportunities for all pupils, as classes move through the school with no children who cannot read or write

• you will have a highly skilled literacy expert who can share their knowledge with the whole school staff

• you will have access to detailed diagnostic assessment that will help to determine the learning needs of the few children who need longer term support

• you will reduce the demand for costly special educational needs provision.

Reading Recovery Awards 2017

Date: 7 July 2017
Time: Tea and Coffe from 12:45, ceremony begins 13:15, close at 15:30
Venue: Logan Hall, UCL Institute of Education, 20 Bedford Way, London, WC1H 0AL

The Reading Recovery Awards, organised by the International Literacy Centre, celebrate and honour practitioners who have made outstanding contribution to children’s literacy through Reading Recovery.

RR Children’s reading competition Winners 2017

• Julia Ganczarska – English Martyrs School – Preston
• Kinzah Ali – St Johns Primary School – London
• Mishal Mahmood – Maybe Primary School – Woking
• Neve Hall – St Peters C of E Primary School – Bolton
• Oliver Jordan – Victoria Park Primary School – Bristol
• Roman Ashby Evans – Hillmorton Primary School – Warwickshire
• Sam Ghashghaei – Moat Farm Infant School – West Bromwich
• Taya Adams – Boughton Leigh Infants School – Coventry

RR Children’s writing competition Winners 2017

• Ebony Banks Gannon – Moorside Primary Academy – Manchester
• Georgia Pincott – Beardall Fields Primary School – Nottingham
• Gian Acheampong – St Annes Catholic Primary School – West Midlands
• Leo Burgwin – Moat Farm Infant School – West Bromwich
• Lilly Mae Cookson – St Stephens RC Primary School – Newcastle
• Mohammed Hussain – English Martyrs School – Preston
• Sebastian Wright – Coppice Primary School – Birmingham
• Sheila Reidzane – St Thomas More Catholic Primary – Peterborough

RR Inspirational Manager of the Year Winners 2017

• Barbara Conroy – Queenborough School and Nursery – Kent
• Claudia Cotton – Whitefield Primary School – Liverpool
• Hayley Sutton – Forest Park Primary School – Stoke
• Helen Atkinson – St Swithun’s CE School – Oxford
• Jo Lyons – Brighton & Hove City Council – Brighton
• Rachel Pattison – Marpool Primary School – Exmouth
• Tanya Watson – William Tyndale School – London

RR School of the Year Winners 2017

• Blidworth Oaks Primary School – Nottingham
• Colvestone School– London
• The Greville Primary School – Surrey
• Ilminster Avenue E-ACT Academy – Bristol
• Malmesbury Primary School – Surrey
• Prince Rock School – Plymouth
• Shadsworth Infant School – Blackburn
• South Park Primary School – London
• St. Anne’s Catholic Primary School – Coventry
• St. Augustine’s C of E Primary School – Manchester
• St. Bernard’s Catholic Primary School – Birmingham
• St. John’s Cathedral Catholic Primary School – Portsmouth
• St. Peter’s C of E Primary School – Bolton
• Sutton (CEVA) Primary School – Cambridgeshire
• Waycroft Academy – Bristol

RR Teacher of the Year Winners 2017

• Dwynwen Roberts – Ash Grove Academy – Macclesfield
• Francis Brunt – Blackwell Primary School – Derby
• Julie Doyle – Sneinton St Stephen’s C of E Primary School– Nottingham
• Karen West – Spring Vale Primary School – Wolverhampton
• Laura Marr – Western Primary School – Wallsend
• Louise Harding – Grafton Primary School – London
• Ros Derby – College Park Infant School – Portsmouth
• Tracey Bradley – Glenbrook Primary School – Nottingham

Highly Commended Certificates 2017

This year there was a high volume of excellent entries.
We want to acknowledge some exceptional teachers and schools who made strong applications but didn’t quite make the award.

We will be awarding Highly Commended certificates to;

Cath Gerrard – Longshaw Community Infant School – Blackburn
Cerian Matthews – Beardall Fields Primary – Nottingham
Fay Hall – Southfield Park Primary School – Surrey
Jackie Milward – The Greville Primary School – Surrey
Julie Miles – Forest Park Primary School – Stoke
Kirsty Judge – Hannah More Primary School – Bristol
Stacey Buckby – Broom Leys School – Leicester
Sue Postlethwaite – Hillmorton Primary School – Rugby

Castlewood School – Coventry
Glenfrome Primary School – Bristol
Green Oak Primary School and Nursery – Surrey
Kingfield Primary School – Surrey
Phoenix Primary School – Liverpool
St Augustine’s Catholic Primary School – Coventry

Winners are invited to the Awards Ceremony on 7 July 2017 at the UCL Institute of Education.

For further information please contact Janet Smith :