Imperial College London holidays

Imperial College London holidays

College closure dates

Annual Leave Year

The College leave year runs from 1 February to 31 January. Leave must normally be taken within the leave year. With the agreement of the Head of Department/Division, staff may be permitted to carry up to 5 days’ leave (pro rata for part-time staff) forward into the next leave year. This rule also applies when staff have been absent during the leave year. No payment will be made in lieu of leave not taken except, possibly, when staff leave College employment.

Holiday Leave

The Holiday Leave entitlement for staff who are employed on standard terms & conditions linked to a Job Family is 25 days (pro rata for part-time staff) and may be taken at any time in the year subject to prior agreement by line managers.

New starters – eligibility for paid leave
The right to paid holiday leave begins on the first day of employment but during the first year of employment staff are only entitled to take paid leave which has been accrued. Entitlement will be accrued at the rate of one-twelfth of the annual entitlement each month, rounded up to the nearest half-day or whole day.  Worked examples can be viewed from this page (see Worked examples accordion item).

LEAVE YEAR 1 FEBRUARY 2017 – 31 JANUARY 2018

EASTER

College closes at your usual finishing time on Tuesday 11 April 2017
Wednesday 12 April 2017 – closure day (1)
Thursday 13 April – closure day (2)
Friday 14 April – Good Friday
Monday 17 April – Easter Monday
Tuesday 18 April – closure day (3)
College re-opens Wednesday 19 April 2017

EARLY MAY BANK HOLIDAY

Monday 1 May

SPRING BANK HOLIDAY

Monday 29 May

SUMMER BANK HOLIDAY

Monday 28 August

CHRISTMAS 2017/NEW YEAR 2018

College closes at your usual finishing time on Friday 22 December 2017
Monday 25 December – Christmas Day
Tuesday 26 December – Boxing Day
Wednesday 27 December – closure day (4)
Thursday 28 December – closure day (5)
Friday 29 December – closure day (6)
Monday 1 January 2018 – New Year’s Day
College re-opens Tuesday 2 January 2018