Heriot-Watt University Ielts Requirement

Heriot-Watt University logo

Heriot-Watt University Ielts Requirement

Entry to our undergraduate degree programmes by distance learning is based on an assessment of your prior learning and experience. We can only give you a final decision on whether or not you will be accepted onto the degree programme once you complete and submit an application form.

Your Approved Learning Partner institution will be able to advise you on this if you contact them directly.

Academic qualifications: UK qualifications

Our minimum entrance requirements are based on the UK Universities and Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS) points system. This system awards points to different UK qualifications (and grades of qualification).

Applicants must normally have a minimum of 260 UCAS points for entry to the undergraduate distance learning programmes. Applicants with a combination of GCE A-levels (in appropriate academic subjects) are also required to have a minimum of 2 A-levels at Grade C or above.

The 2014/2015 UCAS tariff for GCE A-levels is as follows:

  • Grade A* = 140 points
  • Grade A = 120 points
  • Grade B = 100 points
  • Grade C = 80 points
  • Grade D = 60 points

To find out more about the UCAS points system and whether your qualification has been assessed, please see the UCAS website.

Academic qualifications: Non-UK qualifications

Most of our students come to us with non-UK qualifications and we have experience of a wide range of qualifications from around the world. We work with our partner institutions to advise applicants on whether their local qualifications will meet entry requirements. In the first instance please contact your Approved Learning Partner institution for advice.

Heriot-Watt University Ielts Requirement

English language competency

We require you to have achieved a minimum level of English language competency before you can be accepted onto the programme

You will be asked to provide evidence of this competency in your application and this can be through a recognised proficiency test or through achieving a recognised post-School qualification which is taught and assessed in English.