Heriot-Watt University Application Deadline

Heriot-Watt University logo

Heriot-Watt University Application Deadline

How to apply

All applications to undergraduate degree programmes at the UK campuses of Heriot-Watt University, whether from the UK or overseas, should be made online through the Universities & Colleges Admissions Service (UCAS).

When to apply

UCAS accepts applications from September 2016 for entry in September 2017. The first closing date for applications to be guaranteed consideration is 15 January 2017. Some degree programmes may remain open to receive applications after this date. However, we cannot guarantee this, especially for areas of high demand. You should contact the Admissions Tutor for the degree programme you are applying to for more information about the application deadline.

Heriot-Watt University Application Deadline

UCAS codes

  • The UCAS institution code for Heriot-Watt is H24*.
  • The programme codes you will need for your application are listed against each programme.
  • Programmes based at our Edinburgh Campus do not have a Campus Code.
  • Programmes based at our Scottish Borders Campus have the Campus Code S.

* For Professional Education (Secondary) and Physics / Chemistry courses, apply using UCAS institution code S75 (University of Stirling).

Applications after the 15th January UCAS Deadline

All of our undergraduate programmes are open to International applicants and applicants from England, Wales and Northern Ireland. If you have not already submitted an application in this current cycle you can do so at UCAS Apply. Alternatively, if you have already used all five choices on your UCAS application this year but are currently holding no offers, or if you choose to decline your offers or withdraw your choices, you will be eligible to apply through UCAS Extra.

Due to Scottish Government limits on the number of funded places available, some of our programmes are now closed to applicants permanently resident in Scotland or the EU-outside the UK, or who are eligible for SAAS funding.

Subject areas that are open to applicants permanently resident in Scotland or the EU-outside the UK, or who are eligible for SAAS funding, are:

School of Energy, Geoscience, Infrastructure and Society

  • Architectural Engineering
  • Biology
  • Civil Engineering and Structural Engineering
  • Construction Project Management and Quantity Surveying
  • Urban Studies

School of Engineering and Physical Sciences

  • Chemical Engineering
  • Electrical, Electronic and Computer Engineering
  • Engineering & Combined Studies
  • Physics

School of Mathematical and Computer Sciences

  • Actuarial Mathematics and Statistics
  • Mathematics
  • Computer Science

School of Social Sciences

  • British Sign Language (Interpreting, Translating and Applied Language Studies)
  • Psychology

School of Textiles and Design

  • Textiles and Design