Harper Adams University International Office

By | 9th June 2017

Harper Adams University logo

Harper Adams University International Office

International Office


Dr Leticia Chico-Santamarta
Coordinator for the Latin American and Caribbean Partnerships


Mrs Kai Ma
International Officer

Key Contacts

The list below contains contact details for departments and key members of staff at Harper Adams:

DepartmentContact/EmailTelephone
Main Reception01952 820280
Admissions and Academic Registryadmissions@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5000
AlumniJulie Brook
haclub@harper-adams.ac.uk
01952 81 5297
Careers Advice CentreMaria Simpson
Conference Officeconferences@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5324
Collaborative Research and ProjectsKreseda Smith01952 81 5113
Education and ExaminationsSandra Ellis01952 81 5372
Estates and FacilitiesPaul Moran01952 81 5093
Finance
Accounts Payable
Accounts Receivable
Student Payments
purchases@harper-adams.ac.uk
creditcontrol@harper-adams.ac.uk
studentinvoicing@harper-adams.ac.uk
01952 815350 / 815276
01952 815404
01952 815214
Harper Initiatives/School and College Liaisonschoolsliaison@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5044
Human Resources (HR)vacancies@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5447
Information Servicesservicedesk@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5555
Learner and Disability SupportJane Hill01952 81 5417
Library (Welcome Hub)libhelp@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5393
Marketing and CommunicationsSimon Pride01952 81 5103
Press Officepress@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5291
Vice-Chancellor’s OfficeDavid Llewellyn01952 81 5275
Research Postgraduate StudiesVivien Slann01952 81 5328
Short Courses Officeshortcourses@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5324
Student ServicesRebecca Hayhurst01952 81 5396/ 81 5176
Students’ Unionsu@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5356
Taught Postgraduate Coursespostgraduate@harper-adams.ac.uk01952 81 5289

Harper Adams University

Harper Adams University is a public university located close to the village of Edgmond (near Newport), in Shropshire, England. It is a specialist provider of higher education for the agricultural and rural sector.

Our history

Thomas Harper Adams, a wealthy Shropshire gentleman farmer who had died in 1892, bequeathed his estate ‘for the purpose of teaching practical and theoretical agriculture’. Harper Adams College opened in 1901; Headworth Foulkes was the first principal of the College and there were six students.

A specialist department was created in 1909 and the egg laying trials, which started in 1912, earned the College a wide following. In April 1915, the College was the first institution to provide courses for women in wartime farm work. The college contributed to the war effort by training disabled veterans in farm work, especially poultry husbandry. In 1916, women were allowed to enrol at the college on full-time courses for the first time and were to remain until after the Second World War, when priority of places went to discharged servicemen. The College was also instrumental in providing a wide range of wartime services, such as courses in tractor driving.