Falmouth University UCAS

Falmouth University UCAS

What are UCAS points?

Those applying to undergraduate courses will use UCAS (the Universities and Colleges Admissions Service) to lodge their application. Qualifications carry certain UCAS points, as a way of establishing equivalencies. For example, grade A at A Level is equal to 120 UCAS points. A typical offer for entry to first year at Falmouth is between 260 and 300 UCAS points. To see how many UCAS points your qualification is worth, please see the UCAS Tariff. However, most of our courses will not consider UCAS points in isolation, they will also seek evidence of your creative ability and consider you or your own individual merit. If you are predicted to achieve grades which fall outside of this points range, please continue with your application and contact the Admissions team if you need any advice.

Entry Requirements

What is CATS?

The Credit Accumulation Transfer Scheme (CATS) is a type of APL process that allows applicants who possess learning that is recognised and positioned within the Framework for Higher Education Qualifications (FHEQ) to apply for general or specific credit transfer.

What is APL?

Accreditation of Prior Learning (APL) is the formal recognition of prior learning and/or experience. We appreciate that not all prospective students meet the standard entry requirements for our courses but they may have achieved equivalent learning outcomes through other qualifications, self-directed study and/or professional experience. We have an APL Policy and Procedure in place to provide applicants with the opportunity to demonstrate how they may meet our entry criteria in other ways.

What do you mean by a Level 3 or a Level 6 qualification?

Levels of academic study in England, Northern Ireland and Wales are officially recognised through the Qualifications and Credit Framework (QCF).

How do my international qualifications compare to your entry requirements?