Durham University M Phil

By | 24th May 2017

Durham University logo

Durham University M Phil

The MPhil Anthropology is a one year full-time course of supervised research. You can also register to study for this qualification part-time. In this case the length of your course will be at least twice the length for full-time study.

Research students work closely with a supervisory team to undertake a substantial piece of research which must be written up in the form of a thesis. In addition, research students are required to undertake research training, provided by both the university and the department.

‘The 2D:4D ratio and social behaviour in female chacma baboons: Dominance, aggression, affiliation and interest in infants’ (Caroline Howlett, 2013)

‘Ethnic identity, political identity and ethnic conflict: simulating the effect of congruence between two identities on ethnic violence and conflict’ (Daniel Wigmore-Shepherd, 2013)

‘Recording the senses, playing with perceptions. Can an anthropologist learn anything from learning to make a film?’ (Steve Wilson, 2013)

‘Electric car cultures: An ethnography of the everyday use of electric vehicles in the UK’ Joanne Brady (2011)

‘Emotional social networks and interpersonal communication of emerging adults’ Peter Tomlin (2010)

‘The ‘Got Milk’ project: The timing of Lactogenesis Phasell: The impact of mother-infant proximity’ (2009)

‘The ‘retention in randomised control trials (RRCT)’ project’ Dawn Mee (2009)

Course Requirements

To be admitted to do a research degree you must show that you have appropriate training to work independently (with academic guidance from your supervisor) at this level. This will normally involve both an undergraduate degree at upper second or first class level and a supportive references. The department will also need to be satisfied that your proposed research is viable and that we are able to provide appropriate supervision and resources.

Academic Staff

Name Telephone Email Research Interests
Dr Simone Abram 42871 simone.abram@durham.ac.uk
  • Energy and Society
  • Inhabitation and Property
  • Local Planning
  • Practices of Public Participation
Prof Catherine Alexander 41622 catherine.alexander@durham.ac.uk
Prof Helen L. Ball 41602 h.l.ball@durham.ac.uk
  • Behaviour and physiology of infant sleep
  • Child sleep and obesity
  • Development of sleep patterns and circadian rhythms
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Human behaviour: parenting, infant care, infant mortality, SIDS, infanticide
  • Midwifery and postnatal care
  • Infant feeding and sleeping
Prof Robert A. Barton 41603 Contact Robert A. Barton
  • Behavioural ecology and sociobiology
  • Comparative studies of brain size and structure in relation to behavioural ecology
  • Evolution of mamalian reproductive traits
  • Primate evolution and behaviour
Professor Sandra Bell 43311 sandra.bell@durham.ac.uk
  • Environmental anthropology
  • European wetlands
  • Interdisciplinarity
  • Socio-technical systems of energy
  • Western Buddhism
Prof Gillian Bentley 41114 g.r.bentley@durham.ac.uk
  • Behavioural ecology
  • Early life development and later life health
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Overweight/obesity and child health
  • Reproductive ecology
Prof Alan Bilsborough 41625 alan.bilsborough@durham.ac.uk
  • Human evolution, especially the functional basis for cranial diversity in early hominids and the reconstruction of evolutionary patterns
  • The interaction of social and biological variables in human biology, with particular reference to patterns of nutrition and disease
Dr Hannah Brown 40244 hannah.brown@durham.ac.uk
  • Community-Based Health Care
  • East Africa, Kenya
  • Epidemics (especially HIV/AIDS and VHFs)
  • Global Health and Development
  • Health Governance
  • Hospitals
  • Human animal relations
  • Science
  • West Africa, Sierra Leone
  • Work and Management
Dr Trudi Buck 40254 t.j.buck@durham.ac.uk
  • Applications of geometric morphometrics to human evolution
  • Biological anthropology from material culture
  • Early human migrations
  • Forensic anthropology
  • Public engagement with science and anthropology
  • The evolution of human craniofacial diversity
Dr Ben Campbell 41621 ben.campbell@durham.ac.uk
  • Biotechnology and post-agrarian rural economies
  • Conservation and social justice
  • Culture and sustainability
  • Environmental anthropology
  • Food cultures
  • Indigenous knowledge and development
  • Low carbon energy transitions
  • Nepal and Himalayas
  • South Asia and social theory
Prof Michael B. Carrithers 41634 Contact Michael B. Carrithers
  • Narrative as a form of social and cultural understanding
  • Nature of publics and public sphere
  • Sociality
  • Theories of interaction, dialogism and mutualism, activity theory
  • Rhetoric and culture
  • Rhetoric of photography
  • East Germany
Dr Yulia Egorova 41598 yulia.egorova@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of Jewish communities
  • Anthropology of science
  • Jewish-Muslim relations
Professor Sarah Elton 40241 sarah.elton@durham.ac.uk
  • Ecology, palaeobiology and palaeoecology
  • Evolutionary medicine
  • Functional morphology
  • Old World monkey biogeography
  • Plio-Pleistocene hominin evolution
  • Primate locomotion
Dr Paolo Fortis 43309 paolo.fortis@durham.ac.uk
  • Aesthetics
  • Amerindian societies
  • Anthropology of art
  • Myth and history
  • Panama
  • Personhood
  • Shamanism
  • Social change
Dr Kate Hampshire 43313 k.r.hampshire@durham.ac.uk
  • Africa
  • Demography
  • Health and disease
  • Human ecology
  • Livelihood strategies and security
  • Nomads, migrants and other mobile populations
  • Pastoralists
  • Sahel
Professor Russell Hill 41601 Contact Russell Hill
  • Primate Behaviour and Ecology
  • Predator-Prey Interactions
  • Felid Behaviour and Ecology
  • Conservation and Human-Wildlife Conflict
Dr Kara Hoover 41628 Contact Kara Hoover
Dr Jeremy Kendal 41630 jeremy.kendal@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural evolution
  • Cultural niche construction
  • Gene-culture coevolution
  • Social learning
Dr Rachel Kendal (nee Day) 41627 rachel.kendal@durham.ac.uk
  • Social Learning
  • Behavioural Innovation
  • Cultural Evolution
  • Cumulative Culture
  • Applications to Welfare, Conservation & Science Communication
Dr Elisabeth Kirtsoglou 40680 elisabeth.kirtsoglou@durham.ac.uk
  • Gender
  • Greece
  • Identity
  • Politics
  • Migration and Refugee Issues
Dr Kris (Fire) Kovarovic 41628 kris.kovarovic@durham.ac.uk
  • African Plio-Pleistocene palaeoecology
  • Early hominin environments and methods for reconstructing habitats
  • Faunal community ecology
  • Mammalian functional morphology (particularly ungulates)
  • Tracing environmental change
Prof Robert H. Layton 41636 Contact Robert H. Layton
  • Anthropology and archaeology of art
  • Evolution of social behaviour
  • Indigenous rights
  • Social change, especially among French and Chinese villagers, and Native Australians
Dr Stephen M. Lyon 41597 s.m.lyon@durham.ac.uk
  • Conflict resolution, political and legal anthropology
  • Cultural Systems
  • Kinship and Social Networks
  • Pakistan
  • Islam
  • Computing and Anthropology
Dr Claudia Merli 43310 claudia.merli@durham.ac.uk
  • Medical anthropology
  • Body and embodiment
  • Reproductive health
  • Thailand, Muslim minority
  • Female genital cutting
  • Male circumcision
  • Natural hazards, tsunami, catastrophes and religion
  • Ethnopsychiatry, anthropology of mental illness, PTSD
  • Culture-bound syndromes
Dr Nayanika Mookherjee 43296 nayanika.mookherjee@durham.ac.uk
  • Anthropology of politics, state, violence, memory, and human rights
  • Gendered violence during wars
  • Aesthetics, affective apparatus (museums, memorials), senses and the nation-state
  • Political kinship and transnational adoption
  • Ethics
  • South Asia
Dr Tessa M. Pollard 41623 t.m.pollard@durham.ac.uk
  • Evolutionary perspectives on ‘western’ diseases
  • Lifestyle, inequalities and cardiovascular diseases / type 2 diabetes
  • The health of migrant populations in the UK, especially in relation to South Asians
  • Early life influences on health (e.g. the thrifty phenotype) in relation to populations in transition
  • Stress and health
Dr Ian Rickard 40246 ian.rickard@durham.ac.uk
  • Evolutionary ecology
  • Human biology
  • Individual variation
  • Life history theory
  • Natural selection
Dr Andrew J. Russell 43312 a.j.russell@durham.ac.uk
  • Medical anthropology
  • Tobacco (its use and control)
Professor Jo Setchell 41633 joanna.setchell@durham.ac.uk
  • Human-wildlife interactions
  • Primate Conservation
  • Primate socioecology
  • Reproductive strategies
  • Secondary sexual traits and signalling in males and females
  • Socioendocrinology
  • Primate behavioural ecology
  • Sexual selection
  • Life history strategies and phenotypic plasticity
  • Ethnoprimatology
Prof Paul Sillitoe 41632 paul.sillitoe@durham.ac.uk
  • Development and social change
  • Economic anthropology and tribal socio-political orders
  • Environmental anthropology and natural resources management
  • Human ecology and ethnosciences
  • Indigenous knowledge and participating development
  • Livelihood and technology
  • Melanesia and South Asia
Professor Bob Simpson 41619 robert.simpson@durham.ac.uk
  • Death and Donation
  • Tissue economies [as these relate to organs, gametes and embryos]
  • ‘Human subject research’ and the ethics of experimentation involving humans
  • Comparative bioethics
  • Kinship and the new reproductive and genetic technologies
  • Kinship, divorce, and relationship breakdown in Western societies
  • Narrative and biography
  • Sri Lanka, ritual tradition and performance
Prof Veronica Strang veronica.strang@durham.ac.uk
  • Environmental anthropology
  • Materiality
  • Water
Dr Jamie Tehrani 41631 jamie.tehrani@durham.ac.uk
  • Cultural evolution
  • Phylogenetic analysis of culture
  • Social learning
  • Cognitive anthropology
  • Oral traditions
  • Material culture
  • Fairy tales
Dr Thomas Yarrow 41624 t.g.yarrow@durham.ac.uk
  • Activism
  • Development knowledge and practice
  • Heritage Conservation
  • Intersections between Archaeology and Anthropology
  • Life history and personal narrative
  • NGOs and Civil Society
  • Space and Place
  • The social construction of policy knowledge
  • West Africa