Durham University Earth Sciences

Durham University logo

Durham University Earth Sciences

UCAS codeF644
Mode of studyFull Time
Duration4 years
Location Durham City
Typical OffersA-Level
International Baccalaureate
Please also check Requirements and Admissions.
Alternative qualificationswww.durham.ac.uk/undergraduate/apply/entry-reqs
Department(s) Websitewww.durham.ac.uk/earth.sciences
Telephone+44 (0)191 334 2198

A four-year Masters degree course that has been designed to provide a comprehensive and rigorous education in all aspects of Earth Sciences with the opportunity to interact with staff at the cutting-edge of scientific research. It provides the opportunity to follow the Geology (F600) or Environmental Geosciences (F630) or Geophysics with Geology (F662) for the first three years and undertake a detailed Research Project in the area of your choosing in the fourth year. The MSci Earth Sciences course incorporates a substantial amount of independent (and group) project work which will involve you in high-level quantitative investigations, in addition to advanced key skills training.

Students who have been accepted on the BSc degree courses can choose to transfer to the four-year MSci degree in Earth Sciences (F644) at the end of their second year. This will depend on your progress in the first two years.

Year 1
Compulsory modules:

  • Principles of Earth Sciences
  • Earth Materials
  • Understanding Earth Sciences
  • Field Studies.

Optional modules:

  • Environment and Resources
  • Mathematical Methods in Geosciences
  • Further Mathematics for Geoscientists
  • Physics for Geoscientists
  • Up to two modules from another academic department.

Year 2
Compulsory modules:

  • Fieldwork (Geological)
  • Structural Geology and Tectonics
  • Sedimentary Environments
  • Igneous and Metamorphic Geochemistry and Petrology

Optional modules:

  • Geophysical Methods for Geoscientists
  • Geoinformatics
  • Palaeoecology
  • The Geological Evolution of the British Isles
  • Water and Climate
  • Modelling Earth Processes
  • One module from another academic department.

Year 3
Compulsory modules:

  • Dissertation
  • Challenges in Geodynamics I

Optional modules:

  • Earth System and Climate
  • Earth Structure and Dynamics
  • Petroleum Geophysics
  • Sedimentary and Petroleum Systems
  • Magmatism
  • Palaeobiology
  • Tectonics and Deformation Processes
  • Environmental Geochemistry
  • Earth Sciences into Schools
  • Hydrogeology and Geomechanics.

Year 4

Compulsory modules:

  • Research Project
  • Frontiers in Earth Science
  • Earth Science Field Seminar
  • Earth Sciences into Society.