Durham University Campus

Durham University logo

Durham University Campus

Durham University owns a 227.8 hectare (ha) estate which includes part of a UNESCO world heritage site,one ancient monument, five grade-one listed buildings and 68 grade two-listed buildings along with 44.9 ha of woodland. The estate is divided across two separate locations: Durham City and Queen’s Campus, Stockton. The two locations are connected via a free bus service that runs frequently throughout the week. One of the major public attractions in Durham City is the 7.3 ha Botanic Gardens, established in 1970, with over 78,000 visitors (2007/08).

Durham City

The former home of the university’s administration, Old Shire Hall

Durham City is the main location of the university and contains 14 of the 16 colleges along with most of the academic departments. The Durham City estate is spread across several different sites

The Bailey is the historic centre of the University and contains 5 colleges as well as the departments of Music and of Theology and Religion, the Institute of Advanced Study and Palace Green Library, housing the University’s special collections. The Bailey is linked to Dunelm House, home of the Students Union in New Elvet, by the University’s Kingsgate Bridge.

The Old and New Elvet areas contain a number of departments in Humanities and Social Sciences including Philosophy, and Sociology. The Leazes Road site on the north bank of the Wear, opposite the University’s Racecourse playing fields and Old Elvet, is home to the School of Education and Hild Bede College. Old Elvet was previously the site of the university’s administration in Old Shire Hall, which has, since September 2012, been based on the Mountjoy site, in the Palatine Centre on Stockton Road.In December 2016, the University revealed controversial plans to demolish Dunelm House as part of the planned redevelopment of the New Elvet area, claiming it would cost £15M to repair the building and make it fit for purpose. The Secretary of State, Karen Bradley, decide in 2016 not to list the building, which would prevent its demolition; the Twentieth Century Society is (as of February 2017) appealing against this ruling and have placed Dunelm House on their ‘Buildings at Risk List’.