De Montfort University Hugh Aston Building

De Montfort University logo

De Montfort University Hugh Aston Building

Hugh Aston Building
Address The Newarke, Leicester, LE2 7BY
Year Built 2009
GIA (sqm) 16,471.83
Occupants Directorate of Estates and Commercial Services

Directorate of Library and Learning Services

Directorate of Marketing and Communications

Directorate of Research Business and Innovation

Directorate of Student and Academic Services

Executive, Governance and Legal Services

Faculty of Arts, Design and Humanities

Faculty of Business and Law

Faculty of Health and Life Sciences

Faculty of Technology

Information Technology and Media Services

People and Organisational Development

Strategic Planning Service

De Montfort University (DMU) is a public university in the city of Leicester, England. In 2008, 70% of the university’s research was deemed ‘world leading’ (40%), or ‘internationally excellent’ (30%) in the United Kingdom Research Assessment Exercise. The assessment also highlighted a particular strength in English literature, where its RAE score equalled the University of Cambridge. The university has the second highest number of National Teaching Fellows of all UK universities. The university ranked 53rd in the Times University rankings for 2016.

The university is organised into four faculties: Art, Design, and Humanities; Business and Law; Health and Life Sciences; and Technology (comprising Computing Sciences and Engineering). There is also the Institute of Creative Technologies which researches the intersections of art, science, technology and multidisciplinary working.