Cranfield University / UK Defence Academy

cranfield university logo

Cranfield University / UK Defence Academy

The Defence Academy is responsible for post-graduate education and the majority of command, staff, leadership, defence management, business skills and technology training for members of the UK Armed Forces and Civil Servants.

It is also responsible for the provision of non-technical research and assessment in support of the Department, and for establishing and maintaining itself as the MOD’s primary link with UK universities and with international military educational institutions. By operating under unified direction and with a single budget, it capitalises on the combined strengths of its Colleges, enables the flexible and cost-effective use of staff, facilities and money and maximises influence nationally and internationally.

The Academy is comprised of the Royal College of Defence Studies (RCDS), the Joint Services Command and Staff College (JSCSC), the Shrivenham Leadership Centre (SLC), the Armed Forces Chaplaincy Centre (AFCC), Nuclear Department, Defence Centre of Training Support (DCTS), the Technology School,  Business Skills College (BSC), the Defence 6th Form College (DSFC),  Defence Technical Undergraduate Scheme (DTUS), Defence Technical Officer and Engineer Entry Scheme (DTOEES) and Defence Engagement. The Academy has three strategic partners – King’s College London, Serco UK and Europe, and Cranfield University – who provide our academic and facilities support and who are vital to our success.


The Defence Academy has a number of sites. The Headquarters, JSCSC, Technology School, Business Skills College and Shrivenham Leadership Centre are based at Shrivenham, the RCDS is in Belgravia, London and the Armed Forces Chaplaincy Centre has its home in Andover. Other important sites include the Nuclear Department based at HMS Sultan, DCTS based at RAF Halton, DSFC, Welbeck and the 5 Universities (Aston, Loughborough, Newcastle, Northumbria and Southampton).