Cardiff University Notable Alumni

Cardiff University logo

Cardiff University Notable Alumni

Heads of state and government

Roy Jenkins, former President of the European Commission
  • Lord Jenkins, former Chancellor of the Exchequer, Home Secretary, President of the European Commission and Chancellor of the University of Oxford (did not graduate)


David Richards, Chief of the Defence Staff
  • David Bahati, current State Minister of Finance for Planning in the Uganda’s Cabinet.
  • Christine Chapman, former AM for Cynon Valley
  • Jeffrey Cuthbert, Gwent Police and Crime Commissioner, former AM for Caerphilly and former Minister for Communities and Tackling Poverty
  • Hefin David, AM for Caerphilly
  • Wayne David, MP for Caerphilly and former Shadow Minister for Europe
  • Guto Harri, Communications Director for the Mayor of London Boris Johnson’s administration at London City Hall
  • Elin Jones, AM for Ceredigion, current Presiding Officer and former Minister for Rural Affairs
  • Sir Emyr Jones Parry, former British Permanent Representative to the United Nations, (2003–2007)
  • Glenys Kinnock, former MEP and former UK Foreign Office Minister
  • Neil Kinnock, Leader of Her Majesty’s Most Loyal Opposition (2 October 1983 – 18 July 1992)
  • Mike Hedges, AM for Swansea East
  • Hilary Marquand, former MP for Cardiff East
  • Robert Minhinnick, co-founder of Friends of the Earth (Cymru)
  • Christopher Walter Monckton, 3rd Viscount Monckton of Brenchley, advisor to Margaret Thatcher
  • Craig Oliver, former Conservative Party Director of Communications
  • Bill Rammell, former MP for Harlow
  • David Rees, AM for Aberavon
  • Lord Richards, former Chief of the Defence Staff
  • Michael Shrimpton, barrister, politician, and conspiracy theorist
  • John Smith, former MP for the Vale of Glamorgan, former member of the Defence Select Committee.
  • Brian Wilson, former MP for Cunninghame North


Martin Evans, Nobel Laureate in Physiology or Medicine
Robert Huber, Nobel Laureate in Chemistry
  • Miguel Alcubierre, Mexican theoretical physicist
  • Rudolf K. Allemann, Swiss biochemist
  • Robin Attfield, philosopher
  • Martin J. Ball, Professor of Speech Language Pathology at Linköping University, Sweden
  • Yehuda Bauer, Professor of Holocaust Studies at the Avraham Harman Institute of Contemporary Jewry at the Hebrew University of Jerusalem
  • Leszek Borysiewicz, Vice-Chancellor of the University of Cambridge
  • The Rt Revd Gregory Cameron, Bishop of St Asaph
  • Sheila Cameron QC, lawyer and ecclesiastical judge
  • Archie Cochrane, pioneer of scientific method in medicine
  • Peter Coles, Professor of Astrophysics
  • The Rt Revd Paul Colton, Bishop of Cork, Cloyne and Ross
  • David Crouch, historian
  • Alun Davies, bioscientist
  • Huw Dixon, economist
  • Stephen Dunnett, neuroscientist
  • Sir Martin Evans, Nobel Prize for Medicine[81] 2007
  • Karen Holford, engineer
  • Robert Huber, Professor of Chemistry, Nobel Laureate – The Nobel Prize in Chemistry1988
  • John Loughlin, Professor of Politics
  • Vaughan Lowe QC, (Chichele Professor of Public International Law in the University of Oxford
  • Patrick Minford, Professor of Applied Economics
  • John Warwick Montgomery – American lawyer and theologian; Distinguished Research Professor of Philosophy and Christian Thought at Patrick Henry College.
  • Christopher Norris, literary critic
  • Sir Keith Peters, FRS PMedSci (Regius Professor of Physic in the University of Cambridge)
  • Leighton Durham Reynolds, Emeritus Professor of Classical Languages and Literature, University of Oxford
  • Alice Roberts, clinical anatomist and osteoarchaeologist
  • H. W. Lloyd Tanner, Professor of Mathematics and Astronomy (1883–1909)
  • Pamela Taylor, Professor of Forensic Psychiatry since 2004
  • Meena Upadhyaya, medical geneticist
  • The Rt Revd Dominic Walker, OGS, Bishop of Monmouth
  • Keith Ward, philosopher, Gresham Professor of Divinity, Gresham College
  • Chandra Wickramasinghe, Professor of Applied Mathematics
  • Rheinallt Nantlais Williams, academic


  • Spencer Dale, Chief economist, Bank of England
  • Andrew Gould, Chairman and former CEO, Schlumberger
  • Martin Lewis, personal finance journalist, television presenter and website entrepreneur
  • Dame Mary Perkins, Co-Founder, Specsavers
  • John Pettigrew (businessman), CEO, National Grid plc


  • Nathan Cleverly, professional boxer and former WBO light heavyweight world champion
  • Gareth Davies, former Wales and British and Irish Lions international rugby union player, and current chief executive of Cardiff Rugby Football Club
  • Gerald Davies, former Wales and British and Irish Lions international rugby union player
  • Mike Hall, former Wales and British and Irish Lions international rugby union player
  • Steven Outerbridge, Bermudian cricketer
  • Jamie Roberts, Wales and British and Irish Lions international rugby union player
  • James Tomlinson, English cricketer
  • Bradley Wadlan, Welsh cricketer

Arts and journalism

Huw Edwards, BAFTA award-winning journalist
Tim Hetherington, nominee of the Academy Award for Best Documentary Feature in 2011
  • Matt Barbet, journalist
  • Manish Bhasin, journalist and television presenter
  • Nick Broomfield, documentary filmmaker and receiver of the BAFTA Lifetime Achievement Award for Contribution to Documentary
  • Philip Cashian, composer
  • Rahul Kanwal, journalist and executive director Headlines Today.
  • Suw Charman-Anderson, journalist and social software consultant.
  • Adrian Chiles, television presenter
  • Gillian Clarke, poet and receiver of the Queen’s Gold Medal for Poetry
  • Huw Edwards, journalist
  • Ken Elias, artist/painter
  • Max Foster, CNN Anchor, CNN Today[86]
  • M. A. Griffiths, poet
  • Julia Hartley-Brewer, journalist and television presenter
  • Jiang Heping, Executive Director of the CCTV Sports Programming Centre and Controller of CCTV-5
  • Tim Hetherington, photo-journalist and co-director of Academy Award-nominated Restrepo
  • Elis James, stand up comedian and actor
  • Alun Hoddinott, composer
  • Sioned James (1974-2016]], choral conductor
  • Karl Jenkins, composer
  • Alan Johnston, journalist
  • Riz Khan, journalist and television interviewer
  • Bernard Knight, crime writer
  • Simon Lane, one half of the popular internet show “The Yogscast”
  • Siân Lloyd, television presenter
  • Los Campesinos!, six piece indie pop band
  • Philip Madoc, actor
  • Paul Moorcraft, writer
  • Sharon Morgan, actress
  • Joanna Natasegara, documentary producer, Academy Award winner for Netflix documentary The White Helmets
  • Siân Phillips, actress
  • Susanna Reid, television presenter
  • James Righton, musician
  • Arlene Sierra, composer
  • Richard Tait, former BBC Governor and BBC trustee
  • Craig Thomas, author
  • Vedhicka, Indian actress
  • Grace Williams, composer
  • Ron Smerczak actor[