Canterbury Christ Church University Website

Canterbury Christ Church University logo

Canterbury Christ Church University Website

Our University started out as a teacher training college in the 1960s in response to a national shortage of teachers. Today we continue to shape our courses and research around critical social issues both nationally and globally.

  • 1962

    Christ Church College opened its doors with just 70 students and nine teachers. The Principal was Dr Frederic Mason.

  • 1964

    Moved to the purpose-built North Holmes Road site.

  • Early 1970s

    First degree programme, Bachelor of Education, introduced.

  • 1975

    Dr Michael Berry appointed Principal.

  • 1976

    First non-teacher training degrees were launched.

  • Late 1980s

    Health-related professional courses began.

  • 1995

    Awarded the power to grant our own degrees for taught courses, and with it came the name change to Canterbury Christ Church University College.

  • 1996

    Took over Salomons Centre, near Tunbridge Wells, and created a centre in West Kent.

  • 1997

    Professor Michael Wright appointed Principal (and later Vice-Chancellor).

  • 2000

    Broadstairs Campus formally opened by the former Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr George Carey.

  • 2004

    Medway Campus opened by the former Archbishop of Canterbury, Dr Rowan Williams, at the Universities at Medway site.

  • 2005

    Awarded full university title by the Privy Council; inauguration of Canterbury Christ Church University and the installation of the Archbishop of Canterbury as Chancellor.

  • May 2009

    Multi-million pound Christ Church Sports Centre opened.

  • August 2009

    Granted the power to award research degrees.


Click here to visit Canterbury Christ Church University Website page