Buckinghamshire New University Departments

buckinghamshire new university logo

Buckinghamshire New University Departments

Schools and Departments

Please browse our school and departments pages to discover more of what Bucks has to offer. Within each area you will find information on our specialized areas, the related courses and the teams who deliver them.

Bucks is home to an outstanding group of academic staff. They come from a wide range of backgrounds, with many continuing to work in their respective fields alongside their commitments to Bucks. This ensures that our students benefit from relevant, professional expertise during their studies.

Buckinghamshire New University

Buckinghamshire New University is a public university with campuses in High Wycombe, Buckinghamshire, and Uxbridge, West London. The Vice-Chancellor of the University is Rebecca Bunting. The institution dates from 1891 when it was founded as the School of Science and Art, and has since that date been re-invented variously as the Wycombe Technical Institute, the High Wycombe College of Art and Technology, and the Buckinghamshire College of Higher Education. It was a university college from 1999 until 2007 when it announced that its application for university status had been accepted.


Hughenden Park Student Village under construction in 2009

The University currently consists of two campuses: High Wycombe Campus (previously belonging to the High Wycombe College of Art and Technology), and since 2009 a site in Uxbridge in the London Borough of Hillingdon, a thriving base for nursing students and applied healthcare research.

In 2008, the University disposed of two existing campuses; the Chalfont Campus (near Little Chalfont) and the Wellesbourne Campus (near Hazlemere).