Bath Spa university Director Of Estates

By | 13th April 2017

Bath Spa University logo

Bath Spa university Director Of Estates

The Department of Estates is responsible for the strategic planning, development and management of the University’s lands and buildings on the Claverton Down campus and in Bath.

The department currently employs some 200 professional, technical, crafts and manual staff. We are based in the Estates Office, although operational staff are located across the campus.

The department is divided into several core functions and activities:

Management structures

The department is made up of 13 teams, each with its own management structure.

Fire alarms

Fire alarms across the University are tested weekly at specific times.

Heating

The heating at the University is generally provided by ‘wet’ systems where hot water is pumped round the building to radiators.

ISO 9001

The Department of Estates operates a quality management system meeting the requirements of the standard ISO 9001. We are regularly audited by the British Standards Institute (BSI).

Landscape management

They work to provide a pleasant and attractive environment in which students and staff can relax, work and study, and that will attract future students and conference visitors to the campus. Our 16 full-time and one part-time staff members divide their duties between:

  • regular maintenance of the existing landscape features and plants
  • advising on current and future projects with a landscape element
  • assisting the Department of Estates with the planning and designing of post-building landscape re-instatements
  • creating plant displays for offices, events and ceremonies both on and off campus
  • maintenance and preparation of the outdoor sports areas
  • general assistance to the Department of Estates in moving loads and digger works
  • salting and gritting
  • emergency storm damage repairs
  • litter collection on soft landscape areas
  • overseeing the planting of ceremonial or memorial trees on campus.

CONTACT

Contact us

For general enquiries, please email estates-helpdesk@bath.ac.uk or call 01225 383232.

Emergencies

In an emergency, please telephone 01225 383232 during office hours, or call Security on 01225 385349 out of hours.

Name Telephone Email Position
Patrick Abbott 01225 384468 p.abbott@bath.ac.uk Client Project/Programme Manager
Stephen Andrews 01225 385797 s.j.andrews@bath.ac.uk Carbon Reduction Officer
Vacancy Energy Engineer
Jeremy Brickell 01225 386488 j.s.brickell@bath.ac.uk Cost Manager
Jason Carpenter 01225 384971 j.carpenter@bath.ac.uk Mail Services Manager
Craig Carter 01225 383646 c.carter@bath.ac.uk Electrical Services Engineer
Sam Cummins 01225 385063 s.j.cummins@bath.ac.uk Graduate Project Co-ordinator
Vacancy Deputy Director (Operations and Maintenance)
Jim Dibben 01225 386918 j.s.dibben@bath.ac.uk Accommodation Property Manager
Oliver Eades 01225 386460 o.eades@bath.ac.uk Clerk of Works