Bangor University Semester Dates

bangor university

Bangor University Semester Dates

Our semester dates for 2016/17 and 2017/18 are available below. Select the relevant tab according to your intended duration of attendance. Please review our accommodation pages for the dates of our campus accommodation, which are slightly longer than our academic calendar.

If you are intested in attending Bangor in September 2017 or January 2018, please see here for further guidance on our nomination deadlines and application instructions. Please note we are no longer accepting applications for entry in January 2017.

To return to the previous page, please click here.

  • Semester 1 Only

The dates below are specific to those coming to Bangor for SEMESTER 1 (September to December) only.

Academic Year 2016/17

Academic Year 2017/18

Nomination Deadline
Wed, 01/06/2016
Thu, 01/06/2017
Application Deadline
Fri, 10/06/2016
Fri, 16/06/2017
Arrival Date
Wed, 14/09/2016
Wed, 13/09/2017
Welcome Meeting
Thu, 15/09/2016 (2pm)
Thu, 14/09/2017 (2pm)
International Orientation
Thu, 15/09/2016
Thu, 14/09/2017
Welcome Week
Mon, 19/09/2016
Mon, 18/09/2017
Module Selection Submission
Wed, 21/09/2016 (4pm)
Wed, 20/09/2017 (4pm)
Classes Start
Mon, 26/09/2016
Mon, 25/09/2017
Module Add/Drop Period Ends
Fri, 07/10/2016 (4pm)
Fri 06/10/2017 (4pm)
Mini-Graduation
Wed, 07/12/2016 (2pm)
Wed, 06/12/2017 (2pm)
Semester 1 Ends
Fri, 13/01/2016
Fri, 15/12/2017

Semester 1 + 2

The dates below are specific to those coming to Bangor for SEMESTER 1+2 (September to June) only.

Academic Year 2016/17
Academic Year 2017/18
Nomination Deadline
Wed, 01/06/2016
Thu, 01/06/2017
Application Deadline
Fri, 10/06/2016
Fri, 16/06/2017
Arrival Date
Wed, 14/09/2016
Wed, 13/09/2017
Welcome Meeting
Thu, 15/09/2016 (2pm)
Thu, 14/09/2017 (2pm)
International Orientation
Thu, 15/09/2016
Thu, 14/09/2017
Welcome Week
Mon, 19/09/2016
Mon, 18/09/2017
Module Selection Submission
Wed, 21/09/2016 (4pm)
Wed, 20/09/2017 (4pm)
Semester 1 Classes Start
Mon, 26/09/2016
Mon, 25/09/2017
Module Add/Drop Period Ends
Fri, 07/10/2016 (4pm)
Fri, 06/10/2017 (4pm)
Christmas Holidays Start
Sat, 17/12/2016
Sat, 16/12/2017
Semester 1 Exams Start
Mon, 09/01/2017
Mon, 08/01/2018
Semester 1 Ends
Fri, 20/01/2016
Fri, 19/01/2018
Module Selection Submission
Thu, 19/01/2017 (12pm)
Thu, 18/01/2018 (12pm)
Semester 2 Classes Start
Mon, 23/01/2017
Mon, 22/01/2018
Easter Holidays Start
Sat, 01/04/2017
Sat, 24/03/2018
Semester 2 Resumes
Mon, 24/04/2017
Mon, 16/04/2018
Mini-Graduation
Wed, 26/04/2017 (2pm)
Wed, 25/04/2018 (2pm)
Semester 2 Exams Start
Mon, 08/05/2017
Mon, 07/05/2018
Semester 2 Ends
Fri, 02/06/2017
Fri, 01/06/2018

Semester 2 Only

The dates below are specific to those coming to Bangor for SEMESTER 2 (January to June) only.

Academic Year 2016/17
Academic Year 2017/18
Nomination Deadline
Sat, 01/10/2016
Sun, 01/10/2017
Application Deadline
Fri, 28/10/2016
Tue, 31/10/2017
Arrival Date
Mon, 16/01/2017
Mon, 15/01/2018
Welcome Meeting
Tue, 17/01/2017 (10am)
Tue, 16/01/2018 (10am)
International Orientation
Wed, 18/01/2017
Wed, 17/01/2018
Module Selection Submission
Thu, 19/01/2017 (12pm)
Thu, 18/01/2018 (12pm)
Semester 2 Classes Start
Mon, 23/01/2017
Mon, 22/01/2018
Module Add/Drop Period Ends
Fri, 03/02/2017 (4pm)
Fri, 02/02/2018 (4pm)
Easter Holidays Start
Sat, 01/04/2017
Sat, 24/03/2018
Semester 2 Resumes
Mon, 24/04/2017
Mon, 16/04/2018
Mini-Graduation
Wed, 26/04/2017 (2pm)
Wed, 25/04/2018 (2pm)
Semester 2 Exams Start
Mon, 08/05/2017
Mon, 07/05/2018
Semester 2 Ends
Fri, 02/06/2017
Fri, 01/06/2018

Semester 2 + 1

The dates below are specific to those coming to Bangor from January to December only. This option is normally for students from Australia and South America and such placements are split across two academic years in Bangor, as detailed below. Please note that dates in red are provisional pending publication of the University’s academic calendar for 2018/19.

Starting January 2017
Starting January 2018
Nomination Deadline
Sat, 01/10/2016
Sun, 01/10/2017
Application Deadline
Fri, 28/10/2016
Tue, 31/10/2017
Arrival Date
Mon, 16/01/2017
Mon, 15/01/2018
Welcome Meeting
Tue, 17/01/2017 (10am)
Tue, 16/01/2018 (10am)
International Orientation
Wed, 18/01/2017
Wed, 17/01/2018
Module Selection Submission
Thu, 19/01/2017 (12pm)
Thu, 18/01/2018 (12pm)
Semester 2 Classes Start
Mon, 23/01/2017
Mon, 22/01/2018
Sem 2 Add/Drop Period Ends
Fri, 03/02/2017 (4pm)
Fri, 02/02/2018 (4pm)
Easter Holidays Start
Sat, 01/04/2017
Sat, 24/03/2018
Semester 2 Resumes
Mon, 24/04/2017
Mon, 16/04/2018
Semester 2 Exams Start
Mon, 08/05/2017
Mon, 07/05/2018
Semester 2 Ends
Fri, 02/06/2017
Fri, 01/06/2018
Module Selection Submission
Wed, 20/09/2017 (4pm)
Wed, 18/09/2018 (4pm)
Semester 1 Classes Start
Mon, 25/09/2017
Mon, 24/09/2018
Module Add/Drop Period Ends
Fri, 06/10/2017 (4pm)
Fri, 05/10/2018 (4pm)
Mini-Graduation
Wed, 06/12/2017 (2pm)
Wed, 05/12/2018 (2pm)
Semester 1 Ends
Fri, 15/12/2017
Fri, 14/12/2018