Arts University Bournemouth Governance

Arts University Bournemouth Governance

arts university bournemouth logo

Overview of Governance at Arts University Bournemouth

The Arts University Bournemouth (AUB) is a higher education corporation, established under the Education Reform Act 1988. As an institution it has existed since 1887, and was granted status as a higher education institution in 2000 as the Arts Institute at Bournemouth (AIB) in accordance with the Further and Higher Education Act 1992. Following the award of its own taught degree awarding powers by the Privy Council in 2008, it formally adopted the status of The Arts University College at Bournemouth (AUCB) on the 1st July 2009. On December 7th 2012, with a change to legislation, the Privy Council awarded AUCB full university status and the institution adopted the title the Arts University Bournemouth.

Instrument and Articles of Government 2012

Instrument and Articles of Government 2009


The Board of Governors is the University’s governing body, established in accordance with the University’s Instrument and Articles of Government and from which the Board derives its powers. The majority of its members are drawn from outside the University and are referred to as independent members, although staff and student members are also elected to the Board as co-opted members. The Board comprises 16 members including the Principal and Vice-Chancellor.

Board of Governors

Board Member Profiles

Register of Interests

the board committees

In order to discharge its obligation to be unambiguously and collectively accountable for institutional activities and make all final decisions on matters of fundamental concern within its remit, the Board has established the following committees: Audit & Risk Committee, Estates Committee, Finance & Resources Committee, HR & Remuneration Committee, Senior Staff Remuneration Committee and Search & Governance Committee.

Board and Committee Structure


The Principal and Vice-Chancellor, through the Senior Management Team, is responsible for the executive management of the University, supported by a number of executive committees.